WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2007, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

I've brought my e6750 up to 3.36 ghz. I check the bios for my idle temp as that is the most accurate place to go. It shows 24 degrees. That's unbelievable, I mean, I do have a tuniq and mx-1 that has already set in and my room temperature is VERY low (19-21 celcius). I just still cant believe it because I've also given more juice to my cpu already. Is something wrong? Everest gives me 17 degrees which is below ambient so that is not right. Help pls.
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 05:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

That is a great overclock, with an excellent temperature. What is the load temperature? What voltage is your vcore at? Everest seems like it's not reading accurately.

wow...I wish I had that room temperature, without having to use the AC. Or are you?

Well another reason, for the very low temperatures, is that the Tuniq is way more than enough for a dual core. So overclock like there is no tomorrow. You got tons of headroom.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
That is a great overclock, with an excellent temperature. What is the load temperature? What voltage is your vcore at? Everest seems like it's not reading accurately.

wow...I wish I had that room temperature, without having to use the AC. Or are you?

Well another reason, for the very low temperatures, is that the Tuniq is way more than enough for a dual core. So overclock like there is no tomorrow. You got tons of headroom.
I've got central and window a.c. running. My window a/c is currently set to 66F, it's normally 69-71 so maybe idle temps go up to 26 I guess. And my voltage is up one notch up from stock, idk the number.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 10:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
I've got central and window a.c. running. My window a/c is currently set to 66F, it's normally 69-71 so maybe idle temps go up to 26 I guess. And my voltage is up one notch up from stock, idk the number.
set to 66F? Jesus what are your electricity bills...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

maybe you got a lucky chip
i've heard of those
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
set to 66F? Jesus what are your electricity bills...
lol ez up on your electic bills and you'd be able to buy another GTS to go with your first one
darksideleader is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
lol ez up on your electic bills and you'd be able to buy another GTS to go with your first one
saving money doesn't mean you have to spend it on something else
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
set to 66F? Jesus what are your electricity bills...
Lol I'm 15 EDIT(wtf im not 15, im 14 lol) so I just get a good yell from my mom, but my room is always hot, it's nice in the winter. But when winter does roll around this year. FREE cold air, I'll open my window and try some insane stuff. With these temps, I could make it to 4!!!!!
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
Lol I'm 15 so I just get a good yell from my mom, but my room is always hot, it's nice in the winter. But when winter does roll around this year. FREE cold air, I'll open my window and try some insane stuff. With these temps, I could make it to 4!!!!!
FYI, their is a point where the chip is cold cold/temperature is so low the chip becomes instable/not working
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
FYI, their is a point where the chip is cold cold/temperature is so low the chip becomes instable/not working
LN disproves your statement.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
7900gt temps ninjamonkey Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 08-17-2007 11:01 PM
temps Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 08-10-2007 03:45 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.