WTF memory timings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2005, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 188
Default WTF memory timings

I know it's probably too late to b1tch about it.. some time last year, probably around this time I purchased some memory from Newegg which they advertise as 2-3-3-6

Well, I was doing some benchmarking this afternoon and trying to get some info on different computer parts I look up the memory and it's displaying the following:

Is the software innacurate? Is it too late to take my complaint to Newegg?

It shows the same info for both modules.

Seiken is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694

Have you tried to go into the BIOS and adjust the settings manually?

If not go in there and choose the manual option and set timmings accordingly.

I would guess that the BIOS default setting is auto, and that it would automatically set the timings higher so that a wide variety of RAM would work properly.

Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 188

Ok. I got the timings as advertised. What's a good reliable RAM diagnostic utility out there?
Seiken is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413

CPU-Z, it does RAM and Processor and a bunch of crap.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS


Some ram, you may need to manually set the timings.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413

He will have to adjust the timings regardless.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 09:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 188

Yeah I went into the BIOS and adjusted the timings manually to 2-3-3-6 and bumped the voltage to 2.7 from the original 2.6.

Seems to be stable.
Seiken is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

if u adjust them and see problems return it and get some new stuff

Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.