WTF evga? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2006, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default WTF evga?

Okay I get my 7900gs today and install it, I remeber the power adapter I need to go from 4 pin to pci-E. Then I start to think "I dont remeber seeing a adapter in the packaging". Well it didnt come with it, and the box said it was included. I am so ****ed, because now I cant use this card at all this whole fu***** weekend. My first experience with evga SUCKS!
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

You want me to send you one? Lol.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

WTF what power supply do you have.


**** my 400 PSU that came in a ****ty dell has an PCI-E connector.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

coolmax (cr-450b) and I have looked everywhere on the dam thing, there is no flippin pci-e power cable.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default

eVga rocks, and stuff like this happens. I got a faulty psu from OCZ and i don't complain, only bad thing is waiting. I know how that feels :/
I share your pain.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

O I will still buy from evga, just ****ed me off. first thing ups delivered my stuff to the address the same as our only instead of road theirs is drive. So that took another day out of my time, and now no power adapter.

Is there any way I could wire one up? or should I just wait?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

wait...

jerry rigging stuff is just asking for trouble...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

try going to best buy or compusa and see if theres an adaptor there
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya I am not planning on dueing it. I think I will just wait till mon. or tues. when evga send me that adapter.

Got my Zalman installed, directions didnt really follow with my mobo. But it just turned out easier, removed 2 original screws used to hold on stocker and used them to mount the l adpater on the zalman.
Used it with some as5, idel temps went down at least 7 deg. C, and a ~10 min. torturue test showed 12 deg C temp drops. so I am happier.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 10:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I wanted to see what my 7900gs was idling at, and it tells me there is no tmep sensore on the card. Is it true that this card doesnt have one? Because I mean if my old 6600 did I would be amazed that this doesn't. I have tried 2 different utilities and both give the same results.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.