Wtf - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 02:48 AM   #21 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Drizo
Sorry about your problems nos, have you tried testing the system outside the case? It could be a grounding issue. I'd suggest getting a different motherboard, perhaps the DFI infinity 975x from a microcenter or frys, and another e6600 if you think yours is DOA. That way if you run into the same problem, you can just return it, instead of mailing it back.
ya, i'm about to try that right now, i just needed a bathroom break before i did anything.. lol
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 02:56 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Read through this thread if you haven't already....
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&highlight=ocz
Also if you do plan on replacing the board, check the non-wifi version of the asus p5b deluxe
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-P5B-DX
but the p5b deluxe has one pciexpress 16, and the other pcix4 I think... might be a problem if you do a cf setup down the road.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:02 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

NOS! Stop before you dismantle your system, have you checked how much voltage your ram is getting? I didn't think of that before, but check it out through the BIOS, you might need to add more than what the board is giving. Don't give it any more than 2.0v, if it still isn't booting, RMA them.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...using+problems

XS OCZ support forums
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...play.php?f=138
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:13 AM   #24 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well.. i don't get a post at all.. the system does not turn on.. it comes on for a bit (no post or display though) then shuts down

i have everything hooked up now... not in case though, and still.. no post.. no nothing... same shutting on and off

and this usb led light problem solver is useless.... its only showing 1 light... for a second.. then goes away.. but in the book.. it shows that its always red and green lights.. but i only have 1 green light..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:21 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Man that bites, do you know if your ram is Rev.2? Or if there was a BIOS update to make the board compatible with conroe like the asus boards? Also try clearing the CMOS
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:25 AM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya, i've already cleared cmos, its a click of a button.. and on the box it clearly says core 2 ready... as for rev.2 ram.. i don't really know, but with the ram out it still has the same exact problem
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:32 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Nos, sorry I couldn't help much, but try searching Anandtech forums, Xtremesystems, and MSI's forums... also try OCZ's if they have one. Its getting late on the east coast soo I'm gonna call it a night, sorry Nos, but best of luck to ya on solving the problem.

http://forums.anandtech.com/
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums
http://forum.msi.com.tw/
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:52 AM   #28 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well i've been checking out the problems on the msi forums... and it looks like it may be ram.. looks like i need to find something that does 1.7 stock or something like that.. i just registered to their site.. so imma put up something there
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 04:09 AM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UA_Iron
I bet you its that OCZ ram

that stuff is having a lot of compatibility issues apparently.
i think you may be right, after doing some reading.. alot of people are having my same problem because the motherboard doesnt set ram voltage correctly.... so.. i may have to pick up a crap stick of ram for the meantime... lol... i'll see if i can do that.. hopefully soon

i guess its time to overprice my sales on ebay so they don't sell.... lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 04:59 AM   #30 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well anyway, thanks for the help everyone..

i'm just returning the 975x, hard drive and case for now.. and i'm going to buy a ds3.. it appears ocz ddr2 800 ram is not friendly with it... so ds3 it is.. i'll pick up an sli/cf mobo when they get cheaper.. the only cheap one was the asus with 300mhz cap on oc'ing.. and thats a no no...

anyway, i guess i may be up and running in a week or two.. i can live! lol...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.