Which would you reccomned? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 10:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default Which would you reccomned?

I'm planning to buy an AMD X2 4400+ or 4600+. I can afford both, but i'm just wondering which one is better. Also, i'm wondering whether to get socket 939 or AMD2. Do you think there is a big difference if i get an AMD2? If so, which ram should i look for? (PC 4200, PC 5400, PC 6400, PC 8000?
Help is very much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Default

I have the amd X2 4400+ its works fine, but if you can afford the best use the best there is a diffrence between the 2
__________________

Darybart is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

I can't afford the 4800+. Now i know there is a little difference between the 4400+ and 4600+ (processor speed and cache). And i'm also wondering if it's worth getting the AMD2.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Processor speed is not worth to invest money in, you can always overclock an x2 4200 to an x2 5000+ speed easly [perhaps even the x2 3800] BUT cache is worth investing money in.

However the difffrence between a 2*512k l2 cache [1mb] on the 3800/4200/4600/5000 models and 2*1024k l2 cache [2mb]the 4400/4800 models is minor, you might sense a little diffrence in the multi-taskability, but other than that you won't feel much diffrence, maybe a 1fps drop in games? lol, not even probably..

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

if you're starting from scratch and can afford an AM2 build then go for it.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
if you're starting from scratch and can afford an AM2 build then go for it.
I guess i could, however, which type of ram exactly should i use.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

ddr2 800
reckliss is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reckliss
ddr2 800
What about the PC number? WHat is the difference. There are like 5 different ones and i don't know which one to choose.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Proximos
What about the PC number? WHat is the difference. There are like 5 different ones and i don't know which one to choose.
Heres two models I know for fact that will work on most AM2 machines:

Mushkin XP2-6400 cas latencies 4 [s/n: 996523] <<Was tested by the DFI tech support and DFI-street members on most of the commonly used motherboards for AM2.

Corsair Twin2X2048-6400C4 <<Was verified by a couple of XtremeSystems members to work with most of the commonly used motherboards of AM2.


Hope this helps, both RAMs are not Value rams, they are high performance, overclockable rams that should be used for high end machines.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
Heres two models I know for fact that will work on most AM2 machines:

Mushkin XP2-6400 cas latencies 4 [s/n: 996523] <<Was tested by the DFI tech support and DFI-street members on most of the commonly used motherboards for AM2.

Corsair Twin2X2048-6400C4 <<Was verified by a couple of XtremeSystems members to work with most of the commonly used motherboards of AM2.


Hope this helps, both RAMs are not Value rams, they are high performance, overclockable rams that should be used for high end machines.

-Jo.
All right thanks, i'll have a look and see and hopefully you can tell me if it's good or not.
__________________

__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.