Would upgrading my ram from 1 gig to 2 make a large difference in this setup? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2006, 12:36 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

That test shows me that 2GB RAM is all and all, not a bad idea! In all the tests, except the Quicktime one, 2x1024MB increased performance (or at least equalled) that of 2x512MB. Or am I misreading the test results, Flash?
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:01 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Those benchmarks basically say that 2GB usually causes near-imperceptible gains and losses in performance, but it's still useful if you multitask a lot, and will be good in the future, or now if you like to max all of your settings.
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:05 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
That test shows me that 2GB RAM is all and all, not a bad idea! In all the tests, except the Quicktime one, 2x1024MB increased performance (or at least equalled) that of 2x512MB. Or am I misreading the test results, Flash?
look at the difference between the two, Its within 5% which is within the margin of insignificance/error!! AKA margin of advertising BS! The people trying to sell more hardware will always tell you you need more! Concider the fact it is double the price for a 5% increase that doesn't sound like its "all and all not a bad idea" to me! Did you conviniently skip over the 3dmark06 cpu test where it actually does better then 2x1024?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:11 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
look at the difference between the two, Its within 5% which is within the margin of insignificance/error!! AKA margin of advertising BS! The people trying to sell more hardware will always tell you you need more! Concider the fact it is double the price for a 5% increase that doesn't sound like its "all and all not a bad idea" to me! Did you conviniently skip over the 3dmark06 cpu test where it actually does better then 2x1024?
And did you skip over the fact that any performance disadvantage it had was almost negligible? :P
Orayn is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:14 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Okay, my bad. It performs better in all but 2 tests. Yes, its only 5%. I'm not arguing, I myself have only 1.5Gig, not even running in dual channel mode. Better performance remains better performance, even if its only 5% better! Or am I misunderstanding the meaning of the word "better"?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:17 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

"Better" in a very technical sense, yes. But not "better" in the sense that there will be any noticable increase or decrease in performance.
EDIT: F.E.A.R. did gain 5-10 FPS in some places with 2GB, though. It can be helpful if you like to max settings.
Orayn is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:18 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I concede, and agree!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 04:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

So it won't be helpful or noticeable in games such as WOW and CS:S and may even hurt my performance.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 04:47 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

It seems that it won't help or hurt your performance in any noticable way. F.E.A.R. saw some decent gains when maxed out, and other games ran a tiny amount faster or slower than with only 1GB. So no, it won't really hurt, but it probably won't help that much.
Orayn is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 05:24 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Orayn
It seems that it won't help or hurt your performance in any noticable way. F.E.A.R. saw some decent gains when maxed out, and other games ran a tiny amount faster or slower than with only 1GB. So no, it won't really hurt, but it probably won't help that much.
Agreed, but for sure don't get 4x512mb it is a far amount slower!
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.