Would upgrading my ram from 1 gig to 2 make a large difference in this setup? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2006, 10:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Yeah, in that case, there's probably something wrong. 7800 GT is plenty beefy and should be getting more than that in those games. What resolution are you playing them at?
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 10:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

1024*812

What could possibly be wrong? I don't think anything is.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Hmm... Tough. Try dropping your AA and AF. If framerates shoot up with them off and the game doesn't look like crap, you could probably learn to live without them.
Orayn is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

yeah, the exstra gig helps


But, if you do not have a decent psu, get one of them first
bigr5026 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ManBearPig
but in terms of frame rates it will only increase by maybe 10 or 25..

wow........Iv lost all hope in this section of the forum..........
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 12:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

with pagefile off your telling me that wont increase significaly more framerates?

even if framerates are not totally increased the stability of framerates and game performance would be increased. i think it would be worth it.
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:13 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

There will be a small performance boost, but you will most likely not notice much of a change in games themselves. For me the upgrade really let me run a lot more programs at the same time. For example, at the last lan we had, which had about 110 ppl attend, I was running my rig as a bf2 server, a cs server, and i was playing single player cod2 at the same time.

SO in conclusion, you will get a performance boost, but i can pretty much guarentee that you wont see much improvement in gaming.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

do you think it would be worth it?

future games might use alot of ram so having 2gbs might help you in the future
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:21 AM   #19 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

I paid 160 for my 2gigs of ocz gold gx,

and in my opinion i felt that my purchase was well worth it. However unless your a savage multitasker it pretty much isnt necessary.

i.e ill be running something like 6 windows of firefox, cod2, trillian, itunes, speedfan, everest, motherboard monitor, all while im fragging in cod2 and it just thrashes everything.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 07:36 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Why does everyone on forums always say this crap with out ever doing any research about it? Going larger then 1gb can actually slow your computer down (and not just 4x512/ 2x1024 as well) The cpu has to cache all the ram and it hurts it's performance. It doesn't have to cache the pagefile that's why its fine to use the PF for slow unimportant tasks.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mem...2gb-ram_3.html

__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.