Would my rig run BF2142 and F.E.A.R? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 09:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Would my rig run BF2142 and F.E.A.R?

Hey guys,
I've recently upgraded my gfx card to a ATI Radeon 9800 PRO, 128mb.
I'm soon getting a x1gb stick on OCZ ram, with another 1gb following in about 2 months. And getting rid of my generic value ram.
With those updated Specs, also x2 200gb HDD's, 7200rpm. Would my computer be able to easily run F.E.A.R and bf2142?? And if so on what settings do you think?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

i'm not sure about the video card, beucase i'm not familiar with ati's as well as nvidias, but once you up the ram i'd say you'd be able to run them on medium settings. some one else back me up though i'm not quite sure.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

How would you define easily, low-med settings possibly...


**Your sig is huge, only 8 lines on regular size, and 14 on size 1 i believe
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

There it's been edited.
Well my Nvidia FX5200.. can run BF2 on low settings without lag... so im guessing that a 9800 PRO could run them on AT LEAST Medium, if not medium - High.
I don't really know about F.E.A.R though because it is a new game and ive never played it.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

You could even flash your 9800pro to a 9800XT if its an R360 core. That's what i did with my 9800pro until someone stole it :amazed:
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

wait i just realized you said bf2142. is that out already?
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 01:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

no... its got a trailer tho.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 04:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Yeah looks mad... anyway a bit off subject.
How would I flash my 9800 PRO to an XT? and would i notice a massive performance increase, also would it say in the specs in the instruction manual or on the box what core it has?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

No, you have to flash the bios...Taking a floppy putting a 9800XT bios on it and a flasrom program. Boot from the floppy write like something flashrom -9800XT.rom and it should turn the bios into a 9800XT.

1) Make sure you have an R360 core
2) Make sure your card can run at 9800XT speeds
3) Get some better cooling
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 08:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

hmm sounds extremely complicated.... what other gfx card coolers are available? and how much would they cost? is there a sticky thread somewhere which explains exactly how to flash a gfx card?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.