Would This MOBO and This CPU go good together? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2006, 11:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MarceloNJ
But isn't a 3.0ghz better then the ones you guys suggested that were 2.0ghz and 2.2ghz?
get this into your head, you typical american consumer you.

clockspeed. means. ****. all.

except when comparing processors with the same architecture.
__________________

996_gt2 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 09:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

You're comparing insects and mammels. there's no similarity in the architecture they work in. My AMD Athlon 64 @ 2.4ghz is going to kick the living life out of an Intel at comparable speeds. It competes with the Intel 3.8ghz P4. You must be ignoring the names of the processors and scrolling right down to the clock speed. AMD names their processors just for people like you. it's not called an AMD 3000+ for nothing. this is to suggest to people like you that it operates as well or better than an Intel 3.0ghz processor.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EndofSanity
ewww a few of the worst companys on the earth! ASUS and INTEL!! eww go with Something other then ASUS and go with AMD 3200+ :P
Holy crap, this guy dissed ASUS.

Go with the mobo BeefCake posted and the cpu 003 posted.
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 996_gt2
get this into your head, you typical american consumer you.

clockspeed. means. ****. all.

except when comparing processors with the same architecture.
Typical American Consumer? um? ok?

I was behind you with the clock speed means ****. Comment, but when you had to bring "Typical American Consumer" into the mix... ???

That has to be the stupidest comment i've ever read. What exactly does a Typical American Consumer do to give American's a Consumer Stereotype?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

havoc, current popular culture would suggest that it's not okay to be a proud american. You have to remember, blaming america first is the policy of true americans. We're the worst.

[/scarcasm]

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

oh crap... I forgot... My bad...

<---- Slaps his face repeatively until he slips into a self induced coma...

^^^^^^_^^_^___^^^^__________FLATLINING_________
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

OOO, now i feel stupid =/
How about this combination?

CPU- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539


MotherBoard- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138270


Memory- Product Description

Single 1024MB (1GB) DIMM
PC3200 400Mhz DDR Memory
Chip Configuration: 128x64
Chip Density: 128x4 (High Density)
Unbuffered, Non Ecc, Non Registered
Voltage: 2.5V CAS Latency: 3
Double-Sided With 8 Chips Per Side
184 Gold-Plated Pins, SPD Support
Now includes a FREE HEATSINK
Warranty Term: LIFETIME WARRANTY

Compatibility
Works with PC3200, PC2700, and PC2100 motherboards that support ALL memory specifications listed under Product Description. Ensure you motherboard supports ALL specs listed.
marcbraulio is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I forgot to include that i am going to buy 2 memory sticks....two of those above.... that i listed...is it worth it?
marcbraulio is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 04:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

Much better than what you WERE looking at. The MSI board was pretty nice tho.
__________________

__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Closed Thread

« hdd set up | PSUs »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.