Would this be good for gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default Would this be good for gaming?

hey i found a laptop with the following stats for $800. i'm a big world of warcraft player and i'd like to know whether this system would play it good or not. the video card is my main concern. all feedback is appreciated. here are the stats:
genuine Windows® XP Professional;
Intel® Core™ Duo Processor T2300 (2MB L2 cache, 1.66GHz, 667MHz FSB);
1GB (512/512) DDR2 533 SDRAM;
120GB hard drive;
15.4" WXGA (1280 x 800) TFT display;
Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950;
__________________

bobafett573 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Integrated graphics, Seems like the Dell E1705.

Just do you konw, it wont be pretty with that. I'm not sure how demanding WoW is, but not many games can run on integrated . Something no less then an X1600pro/6600 would suffice /X700pro
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Intel graphics are not a good choice, they're integrated. Get a laptop with a seperate card from nvidia or ATi
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

how's the ati x1400 laptop card for gaming?
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

That still sucks, but really anything is better then integrated... 4 pipelines 2 vertex shaders
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Whats wrong with the rig in your sig for gaming? Use the Lappy for word docs and surfing in the summer warmth.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

i'm not taking 2 computers to my dorm...
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I'm no pro at this but isn't SDRAM a little old? Don't think they even sell that in the stores anymore....
N3mo is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Where has SDRAM come into this? Ebay is the only place for it now.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

yeah try to get a graphics card pretty much nothing can run good on intergraded graphics
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.