would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2007, 01:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Exclamation would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800??????

hey guys
i just have a random question about the memory (RAM) that i have. i currently have 2 gb of corsair value select ddr2 533.. i am soon going to upgrade my mobo. so i was wondering if my ddr2 533 would still work in the new mobo that i am going to get which supports up to ddr2 800.
this is what i am planning to get
a gigabyte GA-965P-S3
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-965P-S3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

could u guys tell me if my current memory would work on this mobo
i plan to upgrade the memory soon, but due to money problems, i wanna take it a step at a time.

thanks
__________________

siddanth3 is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 01:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800??????

not familiar with the intel mobos, but my abit supports ddr2 400, 533, 677, and 800. i would a$$-u-me that your board does the same, at least from
ddr2 533 up.
hence the "up to" ddr2-800 part.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 02:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800??????

i think nagasmama is right. your mobo should have no probs with the 533
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 09:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default Re: would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800??????

"The GIGABYTE GA-965P-S3 motherboard utilizes the latest Intel P965 chipset to deliver up to 8 GB dual-channel DDR2 800/667/533 memory"

hah Nagas u no what happens when u assume.... haha

anyway yah that ram will work just fine...
__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 10:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800??????

Simple Answer: Yes
Antz. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.