Would this be considered "High Performance"?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2007, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Would this be considered "High Performance"??

I'm looking to get a new build here soon because my 1 year old PC is getting outdated already, and I might be able to sell it to someone.

I wondering if this would be considered "high performance"... Also, if there is any build suggestions, please; feel free.

Case: Newegg.com - APEVIA X-Plorer ATXB8KLW-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

Graphics Card:
Newegg.com - PNY VCG88GTS32XPB GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail

RAM:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

CPU:
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

MOBO:
Newegg.com - EVGA 122-CK-NF67-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i LT SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

HD:
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250620AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

PSU:
Newegg.com - Rosewill RP550V2-D-SL 550W SLI Ready-ATX 12V V2.01 Power Supply 115/230 V CSA,UL,TUV - Retail

I want to do some gaming (I play a lot of America's Army, along with others), and I do web design and digital video too.

Any comments or recommendations??
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

Overclock the e6420, then yes.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

It's mid-high performance.

But I would suggest this ram kit instead:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

and this motherboard:
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

A couple of questions b1...

Why the other set of RAM? What is the difference between timing 4-4-3-5 and timing 4-4-4-12? The latency is the same on them, so I figured this had to be the only difference.

Also, I really like that Mobo you sent, but the only thing is, it only has i PCI x16 slot... is there anything comparable to it for around the same price with 2? I just want to have the option to SLI if I really want to later on down the line.

Thanks, and sorry for the noob-type questions
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

The ram you chose is great ram too, but I hear that the HZs are just more overclockable at those timings.

If you want the feature of SLI, then I would suggest the MSI P6N Platinum:
Newegg.com - MSI P6N SLI Platinum LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

I was looking for a good SLI mobo aswell, and the 680i (LT for the cheaper option) seemed to be the best one, for SLI.

I've settled on the P35C-DS3R as i realised i probably wont bother with SLI in the long run. It really depends if you want that option.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 11:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

True. I don't know if I ever will SLI, but at least the option is there.

Thanks b1, that'll save me about $50.

Everything else seems to be ok though? Also, I keep seeing there may be price cuts for Intel CPU's. Any idea when that will be?
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 11:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

Quote:
Originally Posted by meay_helmet View Post
I was looking for a good SLI mobo aswell, and the 680i (LT for the cheaper option) seemed to be the best one, for SLI.

I've settled on the P35C-DS3R as i realised i probably wont bother with SLI in the long run. It really depends if you want that option.
i really like the P35-DS3....... nice overclocker and cheap
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 11:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i really like the P35-DS3....... nice overclocker and cheap
It's not a nice overclocker....it's a great overclocker. 500FSB with no voltage increase?....that's just plain awesomeness right there.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 11:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Would this be considered "High Performance"??

Is Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail what your talking about?

If it is, which do you guys recommend? The P6N Platinum or this one??
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this considered a... peterhuang913 Off Topic Discussion 11 06-18-2007 05:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.