Would Appreciate Input On AMD Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2010, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2
Default Would Appreciate Input On AMD Build

Hello everyone! Long-time listener, first-time caller. I am preparing to embark on my very first build and this forum has been supremely helpful to me so far. I'd like to run down the components that I'm looking to buy to see if there's anything wrong with my chosen setup. I already have a nice mouse, monitor, surround sound speakers, and access to MSDNAA.

The machine will primarily be used as a lab/experimental machine as I go through school. I plan on running Server 2008 RC2 as the primary OS, and virtual machines w/ an assortment of OSs. I'll also be storing all of my digital media on it. I'm wanting to dabble a little more seriously in web development so I'm hoping to implement all the shenanigans associated with that as well. I'm not a gamer but I'd like something like Flight Simulator X to run smoothly.

I'm wanting to be somewhat powerful, yet scalable/upgradable so I can get a ton of miles out of it. Right now I'm willing to spend up to $1000/shipped. Here we go:

ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Newegg.com - ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX

(2)G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Desktop Memory Model F3-8500CL7S-4GBRL
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Desktop Memory Model F3-8500CL7S-4GBRL

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

ASUS EAH5450 SILENT/DI/1GD2 Radeon HD 5450 1GB 64-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
Newegg.com - ASUS EAH5450 SILENT/DI/1GD2 Radeon HD 5450 1GB 64-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card


ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVDBurnerBulkOEM
Newegg.com - ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - CD / DVD Burners

OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ600MXSP 600W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply compatible with core i7
Newegg.com - OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ600MXSP 600W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply compatible with core i7

I haven't decided on a case yet so I'm open to suggestions on that too but I'd like to keep it at or below $100. I'm aware of an issue with overheating Northbridges on some of those motherboards but I also understand there's a fairly easy workaround for that, should it be a problem. I would really like to know what you lot think before I pull the trigger because I've never done this before. It does remind me of my first RC heli build and that was a lot of fun, but that's for a different forum.

All input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

Sparks is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 04:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Would Appreciate Input On AMD Build

You're going to want more than 4GB ram if you plan to run virtual machines and whatnot. Also, DDR3 1066 is the slowest DDR3 speed, why did you choose this ram?

That motherboard looks to be overkill. You could cut back on that a bit and opt for the Phenom II x6 1055. This would give you a few cores to play with. You'll get a benefit from it running Server 2008 with virtual machines.

Just my 2cp. I don't feel like gathering the parts and linking them. Maybe later. I'm sure someone else will come along and share some ways to save a few dollars and get nice performance for what you want to do.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Default Re: Would Appreciate Input On AMD Build

Like "RichM499" said, MB over kill for what you need it for.I'll go with the "MSI 870A-G54 AM3 Military Class" last a long time and its $110 dollars cheaper.The CPU is ok for right now, four cores is plenty. With the extra $110 dollars ill trow it towards more/faster ram.Or....you can get an 30-60gb SSD for your OS for around $80-$110, up to you.
pokher is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Would Appreciate Input On AMD Build

You completely ignored combos, so here's a nice setup based on one.

1. AMD Phenom II X6 1055T (Thuban) 2.8GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor (Model: HDT55TFBGRBOX)
2. ASUS Socket AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX Motherboard (Model: M4A785TD-V EVO)
3. G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit (Model: F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL)
4. Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200RPM 32MB cache SATA II 3.5" Internal Hard Drive (Model: ST3100528AS) – OEM
5. OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W ATX12V v2.2/ EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80Plus Certified Modular Active PFX PSU (Model: OCZ700MZSP)
6. Thermaltake Element G Black ATX Mid Tower Computer Case (Model: VL10001W2Z)

$634 w/$50 in MIRs

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
$100 (additional set for 8GB)

Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
$75 (use for your OS drive, use the 1TB for data)

Newegg.com - Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler W/TX-2
$40 w/$15 MIR

Newegg.com - LITE-ON Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD Writer - Bulk - LightScribe Support - CD / DVD Burners
$20

Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders - Operating Systems
$100

Total = $969
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 08:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Would Appreciate Input On AMD Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
You're going to want more than 4GB ram if you plan to run virtual machines and whatnot. Also, DDR3 1066 is the slowest DDR3 speed, why did you choose this ram?
I had actually planned on purchasing two of those 4GB modules. Definitely want a minimum of 8GB to start but I'm glad you pointed out speed. I'll look for 1333/1600.

The 1055T is only $20 more than the 965. That's not bad at all. I think that's the route I'll go since I'm setting up a work station as opposed to a gaming rig.

Checking out the other recommendations now. Thanks!
Sparks is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: Would Appreciate Input On AMD Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparks View Post
I had actually planned on purchasing two of those 4GB modules. Definitely want a minimum of 8GB to start but I'm glad you pointed out speed. I'll look for 1333/1600.

The 1055T is only $20 more than the 965. That's not bad at all. I think that's the route I'll go since I'm setting up a work station as opposed to a gaming rig.

Checking out the other recommendations now. Thanks!
with what your planning on doing I would go for the 6 core, and the ripjaw ram is not bad for the price the bundle listed ^^^ up there with the 1055 is a good deal and seeing how you are planning on running server 2008 you can drop the OS and save even more money
__________________

zero4o3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amd build jitterbug New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-20-2010 10:55 AM
Difference between AMD and Intel? Night Fox New Systems | Building and Buying 24 12-24-2009 02:16 PM
Cheap AMD build needed Dauntae System Upgrades 2 10-21-2009 11:10 AM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.