Would 6800GS BottleNeck?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Unhappy Would 6800GS BottleNeck??

I have a Pentium 4 Prescott Processsor (2.8ghz) 1mb L2 cache
and im planning on getting a 6800gs (AGP)
I have 756 mb ram on my computer

My main concern is will the processor keep up with the graphics card
Links:
Processor--
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116170
Graphics card--
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130264

Thanks in advance.....
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Doubtful. Normally, it's the proc that bottlenecks the system.

(Little more RAM couldn't hurt, BTW).
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Well, if u looked at other guy's bottleneck explainations, the CPU and GRAPHIC CARD are quite independent in terms of performance, so there would be no bottleneck.

On the other hand, i do think that you'd better add more RAM, possbly purchase another 512 stick so that ur RAM run in dual channel.
__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

AHH i have a really really really tight tight budget... i only have 260 dollars and i am getting a 6800gs ($210) + cooling, should i get less cooling and get more ram...
Would it really b worth it??
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Correction i need a cpu cooler so -$20 would be around 30 dollars left. I think that would b enough for 512 mb ram @ newegg
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

If i got 256 i would really benefit from it
Should i get 1gb or 1.25gb??
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm. ..well i have quiet a deal for you.. i have an msi 6800 gs for sale.. for 120 bucks, thats with shipping, it might be sold soon though, so if you want it pm me!

and you'll love the 6800gs

fear average fps on 1024x768 w/aa 2x af 4x - 52fps
cs:source fps on 1280x1024 w6xaa 16xaf - 125 (stress test)

you'll fall in love with the card... but pm me as soon as possible! 120 bucks! w/ shipping! how can one refuse that!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

He's getting an AGP one.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well... how would youl ike a 6800! i see ur a pci-e user!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

I have agp............
I have a pci-e but i accedentally sold it and bought an AGP motherboard before i realized the difference---- I REALLY WAS A NEWB
but thanks.
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.