Worth it Or Not? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: is this a good build for 700 dollars?
Yes 0 0%
No 2 100.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2006, 01:30 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

so should i go with the 7200, 10k or 15k rpm hdd for OS load times? and what amount of space should i get for the loader.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
<font face="Symbol"></font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol"></font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol"></font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol"></font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol"></font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol"></font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol"></font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol"></font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:35 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

15k RPM drives are only SCSI drives as well. steer clear of SCSI unless you really know what you are doing.get a 36gb or 74gb 10kRPM Raptor for the OS and games. get a large storage 7200rpm SATAII drive as well, perhaps a 250gb as they are currently the best value.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:36 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

15k = extreme temps.. .and extreme prices...

10k = so so temps and not so bad prices

7.2k = low temps and low prices


your choise.. i dont know specifics because i've never used anything more than 7.2

EDIT: capacity has to do with temps too.... as nite stick pointed out in a n im

80gb caviar:33
36gb raptor:26
250gb caviar:36

are his current temps
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:45 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

very good advice. thanks Nite and static, that information just saved me a whole lot of $$.

hey another question whats the best memory I can get for a AMD. I am looking for 2GB. so should I get a dual core on the mobo? and which one is good for Overclocking?
__________________
<font face="Symbol"></font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol"></font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol"></font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol"></font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol"></font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol"></font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol"></font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol"></font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:51 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

everyone will say the opteron 165 is the best for overclocking. they always bad mouth the X2 series but i don't see why i'm happy with mine. although it would have to be true that the opterons tend to overclock better. the memory in part depends on the motherboard but as always i reccomend the OCZ Gold series. brilliant overclocking ram and great performance even if you don't overclock. OCZ is about the only company that really warranties their ram for overclocking.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:51 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

you asked like 3 different questions not relating to eachother there.. lol

1) read the section about ram in the guide i gave you
2) get 2 x 1 gig sticks to enable dual channeling which is what i thijnk your talking about.. not dual core, that has to do with cpu's.
3) which one whaT? which cpu? or which memory is good for overclocking?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:54 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
you asked like 3 different questions not relating to eachother there.. lol

1) read the section about ram in the guide i gave you
2) get 2 x 1 gig sticks to enable dual channeling which is what i thijnk your talking about.. not dual core, that has to do with cpu's.
3) which one whaT? which cpu? or which memory is good for overclocking?
thanks I'll read up on that right now

and 3) I was talkin about which memory is good for OC.

KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:59 AM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KlNGPlN

Im convinced its very hard to by a pre-made computer that doesnt have a equal flaw to all the positive things. Im sure I will have to build my own, lol so dont mind all my questions cuz im trying to learn as much as I can before I start.
Now your talkin'.

I am in the process of building my first ever box from scratch. I have upgraded several completely, but this is my first build.

I simply am tired of paying more and getting less!

I purchased my sig this afternoon. It was $1,899.98 ($75 Rebates off that price.) at the EGG. I have the monitor, DVD(+-)RW, MX700 Duo, etc. So, a great gaming computer doesn't come cheap.

There are hundreds of sites geared to building computers. Just do your research and you'll do fine.

Here is a good starting point:

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/index.php?

Good luck!
__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:01 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

uying things one at a time is no good idea as things out date.. buy it all in one big thing so you can have a working pc as soon as you get it... :P
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:30 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tordenskjold
uying things one at a time is no good idea as things out date.. buy it all in one big thing so you can have a working pc as soon as you get it... :P
thanks for the tip, will look into doing that.
__________________

KlNGPlN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.