is it worth getting the Zalman VF900 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2006, 02:15 PM   #31 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

hahah I saw a guy put a cnps9500 on his GPU.

He had to cut life half of it out though and it ended up being a triple slot cooler
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 06:45 PM   #32 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

I can prolly find a way of fitting my old Volcano11 copper HSF on it. I dont use any cards except occationaly a wireless card so i dont really care. Looks dosent matter to me, only performance.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 02:12 AM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

after looking at the diffeent brands, I'm now leaning towards the XFX Extreme Edition, since it tends to clock higher (it also comes stock overclocked)
cost is AU$445 instead of AU$420
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 08:54 AM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Oh yes, I have the XFX extreme edition, 520/ something Like I really care. Though again I would recommend the 900, cause it idles for me at 50-55C, full load usually comes close to 70C, sometimes passes it.

Then again I bought a VF700-CU, it's sitting on my desk cause I cannot take off the screws on the back of the card, I can only get one off LOL.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 09:03 AM   #35 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by PZEROFGH

Then again I bought a VF700-CU, it's sitting on my desk cause I cannot take off the screws on the back of the card, I can only get one off LOL. [/B]

Huh? you can only get one off??? did you strip the rest out? if you did... get some super glue and glue another screw on it... you lose both that way but since your going to put on an aftermarket, then who cares..


(or you can just give the 700 to me, since your not using it! )
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 09:11 AM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

520 / 750

anyway, I'll probabbly be getting the VF900-Cu LED anyway. I will be overclocking the thing as far as I can, whatever I get. I'll maybe even do a volt mod.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 02:27 PM   #37 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

If you want to OC as far as you can then i wouldnt recomend an XFX since it is OCed already. I was told they do that pre OCed thing to the ones that dont have as much headroom. Not sure if thats true anymore but it could be.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 02:36 PM   #38 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Huh? you can only get one off??? did you strip the rest out? if you did... get some super glue and glue another screw on it... you lose both that way but since your going to put on an aftermarket, then who cares..


(or you can just give the 700 to me, since your not using it! )




The stock heatsink is still on, I cannot get it off lol. I can get 1 out of th 4 lol, the rest are just stuck!!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 02:46 PM   #39 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Ahhhh... may the schwartz be with you!!!! you much be weak! LOL
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 03:10 PM   #40 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

Actualy ive come across some stubborn screws before myself. Like one in an old Volcano5 i was putting on a video card. Also the screws on the DVD drive of the PS2. THey are hard to get out if you dont have the propper screwdriver.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.