was it worth getting mx-518? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2005, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default was it worth getting mx-518?

ok right now i am running a logitech optical 800 dpi mouse, i guess it worked fine for some gaming but, it felt like i could see the cursor skiping accros the pixels if i looked really closley. im guessing thats what the higher dpi helps in. but anyways the mouse was starting to die, so i just ordered the logitech mx-518. do you think this will help me snipe from really far distances seeing is the dpi is double my curent mouse. i hope i didnt waste 40 bucks on this thing.
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Well if you got it in hopes that it would make you an "pro" gamer, you're in for a disapointment. It WILL improve your aim SLIGHTLY, but it will take a while to get used to. I have a razer diamondback, and I could never imagine going back to anything lower than 1600dpi.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 09:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

lol well i wasnt expecting it to make me alot better or anything, im just hoping for it to feel better and be much more responsive than my older mouse, so i guess it should help a slight bit.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Yeah, I just got it too. Its a nice mouse. Great feel, plenty of buttons. You can increase or decrease sensitivity with two buttons on the mouse itself. I personally bought it because my old microsoft one was beaten up, and this is much newer. I don't even run it on 1600, I don't like the fast speed. I run it at 800 dpi.
ferris is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

i personally think the 1600 dpi setting is insane and ridiculous. Who wants a mouse pointer moving around the screen that frantically, i could never get used to that. I to have my diamondback running at 800.
espeed is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

I have the mx310 and it's good enough for me, no complaints on it at all.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 11:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

but cant you turn up the dpi to 1600, and then turn down the sensitivity so it gets 5.8mp per second , but isnt as fast
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

*Shrug*

All I know is that 1600 DPI is too high for me and what I do.
ferris is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 10:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

Like Ferris I replaced my old Microsoft mouse for an MX518 and it works great for me. And IMO 1600 dpi is about as squirrely as I can handle.
__________________

flyboychuckles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.