IS it worth gettin Dual core CPUs now ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2005, 03:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

ok il get the dual core. anyway a different topic: rate my system-to-be. this is wat im plannin to get,

asus a8n32-sli deluxe
Corsair twinx2048-4500llpro 2x1GB XMs3500
Evga 256MB Nvidia GF7800GT SLI (1 for now)
Formac Gallery Xtreme 2010 20.1"
AMD 64 X2 4400+
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
western digital wd740gd 74gb raptor 10,000 rpm, sata/150 8mb
Creative Labs Inspire T7900 7.1 Speaker System
hiper 580W type-R Modular PSU
Windows XP home
Raptor M1 1600dpi Gaming mouse
lg gdr-8164bl 16x52 DVD-ROM Internal IDE (Black) - OEM
logitech media keyboard
__________________

adam02 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Thumbs up

Looking good, but if you plan on Extreme overclocking, then get OCZ or G.Skill ram. Other then that, I can't find a single thing wrong with it, have fun with your beast.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

You wont see a difference in games, but you will notice one when multi-tasking. If you have the money, i would just buy the dual core and be ahead of the game for alittle while.

EDIT: That will be very nice when your done. If you want to OC, then go with OCZ and g. Skill like poweslave said.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

is my memory good? is corsair a great piece of memory or is there something else out there thats better and greater value. i only picked that memory cos it said this on ASUS MOBO site:

"Corsair XMS-3500LL PRO Ready
The new XMS-3500LL PRO is the industry's first high-density memory that delivers blazing performance at CL2-1T low latency. Available in a matched pair of 1GB modules, it is shipped with SPD programmed at 2-3-2 -6-1T for the AMD platform. The A8N32-SLI Deluxe and the memory are optimized for each other to reach maximum performance, and are validated for stability and compatibility."
adam02 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Are you going to get another hard drive to compliment your Raptor?
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

System looks good. GL with the build.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

do i need to?
adam02 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

You dont have too but you might want too. Those raptors are fast but they dont have much space. You might want to get another drive and put your OS, games, programs on the raptor and put the rest of the files and everything on the other drive.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adam02
is my memory good? is corsair a great piece of memory or is there something else out there thats better and greater value. i only picked that memory cos it said this on ASUS MOBO site:

"Corsair XMS-3500LL PRO Ready
The new XMS-3500LL PRO is the industry's first high-density memory that delivers blazing performance at CL2-1T low latency. Available in a matched pair of 1GB modules, it is shipped with SPD programmed at 2-3-2 -6-1T for the AMD platform. The A8N32-SLI Deluxe and the memory are optimized for each other to reach maximum performance, and are validated for stability and compatibility."
Yeah, your memory is good. Like toxcicity mentioned, are you going to get another drive for mass storage and set it up in raid? Personally I would.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

^ i dont use a lot of hard drive space, right now on my laptop i have used 32.4 gig and its a 74 GIG capacity. im not a heavy user. so i dont see the need for mass storage. i may consider gettin another raptor in the future for RAID
__________________

adam02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.