Is this worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which name should we use?
Conroe 16 61.54%
Core 2 Duo 10 38.46%
Voters: 26. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Question Is this worth it?

(http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/tec...Fencoding=UTF8)

2 weeks ago this was $500...


What'd u guys think?
__________________

__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

viewsonic are good, but like always, chuck it in a search engine and see if you can find better
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

I would really appreciate feedback on this one!!!
__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Looks like a pretty good deal. Good brand, pretty good specs, why not?
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 03:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Looks great. If I had the money, I'd go for it though the 1680 x 1050 is a real downer. You need a very good videocard for that res. and few games support it.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

pretty much ever new game supports it.. so its all good....

you might also wanna try searching it on www.pricegrabber.com, they tell you the lowest prices based on your zip code with tax and shipping
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

yeah thats what i thought, even if the game supports it you can get a hack for it to work at widscreengaming community......

would a 7600 GT be sufficient to run at a good resolution and still get about 40fps?
__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

NO way.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 05:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Just because thats the max resolution on the screen doesnt mean you have to play games at that. its easy enough to set it lower.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 05:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

but it will look really distored...
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.