Worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2006, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Worth it?

My cousin has an emachines in the T series with these specs

Celeron 2.5ghz
512mb PC2100
Intel GMA 845 (with AGP slot)

It also has a weak PSU, of some low wattage I don't know.

My first question is, would adding a 6600GT, an Antec 450w PSU and an additional stick of 512 PC2100 memory be a waste of money?

Would it be a better idea to hook up an all new motherboard, CPU, memory and PCI-e 6800GS?

I'm worried because I'm afraid that the Celeron 2.5ghz is too weak to flow with the 6600GT and 1 gig of PC2100 memory. Also, is it possible to take out the 512 PC2100 memory and put in PC3200 memory, would it run?

Also, since the computer has already been used and turned on, what precautions must I take when working within the case, so that I don't electracute myself.

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495


Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
mike4realz's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404

yes...go wid a new highend machine with P4 or Athlon 64

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 06:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

If you had the model number I could look up its specs.

But, as it stands, i doubt the PSU in it would handle the 6600GT. Putting it the new PSU would definately be needed. The additional RAM wouldn't hurt either.

Going for a new mobo, etc, is a viable option. You'd still need a better PSU. WHile you're at it, go ahead and get a new case as well, since th eonly thing you are keeping is the hard drive.

You do know that you'll have to reinstall Windows if he gets a new mobo, right?

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495


Well that's a waste then I suppose. Yea I really wish they went AMD when purchasing, it probably would of been an Athlon 64 3000+ :-\

Thanks guys.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495

Turns out that emachines are good upgradeable comps, so I may stick with it. I'm going to find out what the mobo capabilities are, to see if I can upgrade to at least a Pentium 4 CPU. Hopefully I can get the memory speed up to PC3200 if possible. At least it's gotta have an AGP slot if not a PCI-express one.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to joebob764

Yea, it is upgradable. It would be better to get a new motherboard and so forth though (the one stick of RAM could be salvaged along with cd drives and hard drives). This would enable you to use newer processors (Athlon 64 or Pentium 4), and you would then be able to use PCI-Express, which allows for much more bandwidth, creating a much better gaming experience. In addition, I would agree that the computer does not probably have a strong enough power supply to handle the 6600. If you want to upgrade, there are ways to save money and make it relatively cheap, and it would offer you more performance in the long run.
joebob764 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati

lol !!

burned-ati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.