Is this worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2006, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default Is this worth it?

http://www.gladiatorcomputers.com/Pr...=SpecialOffers


Here is the pc i am looking to buy, will this be good enoug to run windows vista? Should i get any of the upgrades at the bottom? I am a gamer but my budget is kinda low, i mean i cant just go and buy a £1000 pc, i have about £600 to spend. Thanks guys, any ideas or help would b much apreciated.
__________________

__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

wwiht a low budget that would rock... if you want this pc to last a lil bit longer youd want to get the e6600 bc it has 4m cache ... that will help in the future......
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Cool that sounds gd, i i really couldnt afford the e6600, should i perhaps go for that graphics card upgrade or is that not worth it? Also would i be able to get an e6600 at a later (richer ) date? I really just want to make sure i can play most games highest, high graphics, and run everything smoothly. Thx for fast resppnse btw m8
__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Camshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default

yip you will be able to upgrade the cpu later because they all use the same socket(LGA775)
__________________
AMD X2 4200
ASUS M2N - e
1gb A data DDR2 667
6600GT
CPU-Z Validator
Camshaft is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

upgrade the PSU it doesn't look very good
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 12:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

i agree with fade2black on this one... im sure that PSU will be sufficient but if you even plan on overclocking that CPU than I would recommend upgrading the PSU to something that is at least 450W & 30A for any future upgrades
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

or.. you culd buy the warranty.. so if it goes out... call em and complain, then get a new computer.. lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default

KK thats cool guys, assuming i dont overclock anything or upgrade anything, will that PSU be sufficient untill new upgrades are purchased? If i get that graphics card upgrade from the site for £20 extra, will PSU still run it?
__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 02:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

That is a really tough call dude, I know that the X1900XT 512mb requires a minimum of 450W (assuming full load) 12V & 30A .. I personally would not trust a 380W powersupply with that computer. I plan on going crossfire with my X1900 so that is why I have the 600W enermax. I would not trust anything less than a quality 450W PSU if I were you, because a rule of thumb is to spend at least 10% of your rigs total on your PSU.. so $1000 computer.. $100 power supply.. not worth risking your rig dude.
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 03:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Brilliant advice people thankyou very much, any help possibe on where i can get a really good gaming rig for £600 or less? Or if its particularl special i could stretch budget a wee bit further perhaps .
__________________

__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.