Is it worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2006, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 24
Default Is it worth it?

should i go for the 4200+ or go with the 3800+ AMD X2 AM2 socket processors.

Is the .2 Ghz more on the 4200+ worth the extra 30$?

ambush is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx

no because you can just overclock that .2 ghz easily. even though i have a 4200+ lol.

but i say go 3800 and overclock it

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 09:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to Von Theron

Yes, you can get the 3800 and overclock it and spend the extra on what ever else you need or you can get the 4200 and overclock it lol. Its up to you if you feel good with overclockin the 3800 then go for it. Would one even notice the difference between the stock 3800 and 4200?
Von Theron is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

well ya if you overclock a 4200 you will be able to oc it farther than the 3800, (most of the time).

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx

yeah i guess. whatever they have the same l2 cache
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419

you wont notice a 200mhz difference.
efd753 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309

For future upgrades, go with the AM2 socket.

[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.