worried if my psu will be enough - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2009, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default worried if my psu will be enough

i currently have a 650w psu here is my specs:

cpu: core i7 920(not oc)
mobo: p6t deluxe
gfx card: 4850 (2nd one for crossfire is on the way)
sound card: xfi xtreme gamer
hdd: gonna have 4 500gb hdd and 1 320gb hdd
drives: 1 dvd drive (IN A MONTH ill have a blu-ray player and a new dvd burner so 2 drives altogther)
fans: 7 120mm fans and the 230mm fan on the case (cosmos s)
ram: 6x1gb ddr3 triple channel 1333

what do u guys think i need psu wise
also did i miss any components

Antec Psu Calc is telling me i need about a 655 watt at full load
__________________

__________________
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

What psu do you have?
__________________

__________________
brinks is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

All those PSU Calculators are useless.. the true way to tell if a PSU is enough is by the brand of the PSU and the amps on the 12v Rails..

Tell what your PSU is
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Antec Neopower 650W

well i just noticed it only has 4 sata but thats ok since the 5th hdd is gonna go away as soon as i get my external 500gb since its just being used currently for movies and anime
__________________
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

I'm not completely sure myself if you'll be able to or not. But my best guess is a yes.
__________________
brinks is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 11:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

lol ty but does anyone know for sure i dont want to mess anything up on this build
__________________
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 08:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

uhmmm there are people on this forum running lowish end SLI/Xfire setups on like 400watt coolers. I think it'll handle unless you OC A LOT or plan on getting a second card. The only reason i went with 750watt over less powerful PSU's is because i plan on SLI'ing at some point
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 11:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

Your PSU might be at full load, if you use everything at max.
__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 11:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

Your psu should be ok for that setup.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 12:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: worried if my psu will be enough

For the Crossfire setup you might want to consider a 750W psu.

Newegg has the PC Power and Cooling 750 for something like 85 bucks after rebate.
__________________

__________________
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 07:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 06:03 PM
Is it possible to use a separate psu to run a vid card?? Jtumble2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 21 08-23-2008 07:37 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 03:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 09:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.