Workstation with some gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2008, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

PSU: Corsair 650tx

9800gtx should be switched to an 8800gts g92, board is overkill, you could do fine with a normal Asus P5E, maybe go for 4gb Gskill Kit?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 09:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

for psu: Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling S75QB 750W EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, ULC, CE, CB, RoHS - Power Supplies

also, go g92 8800gts or a 8800 gt
add more ram, its cheap now and workstations need it

edit: dang vernong got in before me and basically said the same thing, also a good psu there.
luke87 is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

alright ive switched the video card and added the corsair psu. but for the motherboard, is it worth the extra money for the ddr2 1200? or should i stick with ddr2 800?
Goped79 is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 09:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

what is the memory standard of the mobo. i think DDR2 800 is good for overclocking
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 06:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

DDR2 1200
is there much of a difference between that and 800?
Goped79 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 06:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Go for something like these. Don't think ddr2 1200 is worth it. Plus this adds 2 more gigs for less.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
These have a little tighter timings, but cost a little more.
luke87 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 06:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

thanks. might go with the g.skill
Goped79 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 07:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

No DDR2 1200 isn't worth it, because most DDR2 800's OC that high
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 07:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Workstation with some gaming

you can overclock those to DDR2 1066 easily not sure about 1200 but 800 is still fast and those timings are good
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Green Peace Thinks Gaming is bad for the environment Harper Off Topic Discussion 15 03-14-2008 08:00 AM
Competitive gaming and FstPersShoot rmNurse10 PC Gaming 2 03-11-2008 11:36 PM
Help me choose Gaming PC fameb New Systems | Building and Buying 51 03-11-2008 04:47 PM
I need help picking a gaming computer rcnjsn9 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-21-2007 01:01 AM
GAming PC: Bonked out (symptoms).... freshchops Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-24-2007 02:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.