Workstation final parts check. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to klevenskiy
Default Workstation final parts check.

Hello. I have been posting questions about my workstation build here a while ago so I don't think anybody recalls a crazy building a dual CPU workstation, but here I am with my final parts list. I just want to make sure with you that all of these are compatible.

2 AMD Duel-core CPUs: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16819103552

Supermicro server MoBo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16813182081

2Gb of RAM (will upgrade when needed - MoBo supports 16!!!): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820227084

Ram Heat Sinks :P : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16835119017

7950 GX2 video card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16814127212

Audigy 4 Pro Sound Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16829102004

700W Power Supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16817341002

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16811119092

200GB Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16822148146

250GB Archive Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16822148144

2 All-format disk readers/burners: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16827152058

Memory Card Reader: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820300901

Tempreture controller: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16811995005

19" LCD monitor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...82E16824014111R

And the keyboad: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16823201015

Will by mouse and speakers later.

So any comments/suggestions?
__________________

klevenskiy is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 05:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

what exactly will you be using this for, you might be able to get a better, cheaper set up.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

??? You are buying a server and putting in it that crazy video card??? this wont be a very good gaming pc... why would you throw such a v. card into it?!

if you plan to build a server computer, do it properly! if you plan to do a computer gaming and want it to be extremly costy, do it properly aswell!

But first clarify what are you trying to build because your part list just makes absolutly no sense [to me, at least].

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

The two processors will probably slow you down when gaming (Not sure about this, but it seems feasible)
Khann is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to klevenskiy
Default

Well, I am a game developer. And my job involvs compiling video game levels which can take days to weeks on my current PC - time I could be using for actual work. To my calculations these 2 duel cores will decrease my compilation time 8-fold which sounds very good to me and that's why I am going for it. Additionally I very often find myself using a number of different applications simaltaneously as my work required creating separate models in one program, designing textures in another, typing code in yet others, and putting all together in a 3D editor.


However, aside from acutally creating the games, I need to test them. With newer engines and larger, more complicated worlds fps often become a problem for me. So I am also trying to make my machine a higher end gaming PC that will showcase how advanced gamers in the near future will be experiencing my products.


So what exact problems will I be running into with this set up?
klevenskiy is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

if u doing 3d modeling why not get a video card that was made for that. like a ATI Fire GL or Nvidia Quadro?
efd753 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Well, I can't really help you then, I've never designed computers before for pc game engineers.... but what you've built here won't do so good [at least to my understanding] because that mobo is not very good for gaming, its more like... servers mobo, and those two cores works good for multitasking but for gaming they will work poorly.......

Sorry, i'm totaly dumb in that area of computing though....... I wouldn't know how a Servers motherboard will work for game designing and gaming.

And I don't think there are many others here that does :S Perhaps very few if at all... wish you luck though.

-Jo
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

You should look into getting a workstation video card for the pc you're building right now, then another with something like a conroe e6600 or x2 4400+ and a x1900xtx/7900gtx or even a 7950gx2 for testing such game.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to klevenskiy
Default

Well I am not really able to get 2 whole PCs at the moment. But what about those 3D modeling video cards somebody suggested? What advantages do they have for 3D work over let's say the 7950gx2?

Also I am not really clear as to how can a server MoBo and my processors slow down my gaming. Its a SLI MoBo and the processors don't seem too slow either. Am I overlooking something?
klevenskiy is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

opterons are the only processers that you can run two with arent they?

well what if you got like the fastest single processer out? I think it would be no more expensive then two of those. and should do just as good as those ytou currently are thinking of.

Then I would go with that video card.

I would just go find like the fastest conroe and liquid cool then OC. It should work well with what you are doiong.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.