Woot! Santa wears brown... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2007, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Woot! Santa wears brown...

UPS dropped off my parts today.. yay. Im gonna build tomorrow, then take some pics..

Heh.

RIG is in SIG..
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

Heh the brown santa :P I love that expression. Nice man yea post up some pics
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanzerKammander View Post
UPS dropped off my parts today.. yay. Im gonna build tomorrow, then take some pics..

Heh.

RIG is in SIG..
take pics of during build
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

Heh No pics yet, but I do have a question, how do you set a second hard drive as slave with no jumpers... my 500GB wd cavier is a brick right now, computer is reading it, vista isnt... how do you set it as a slave?
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

Depending on which SATA port you put it into determines the slave. Ex: You have 3 SATA ports labeled 1,2, and 3 respectively. If you connect a drive to port 1 its automatically the Master and the drives plugged into 2 and 3 are slaves.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 05:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

I get that, but why isnt vista picking up the second one? It reads my raptor...
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

You have to format it.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 05:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

Im an idiot, I just found the disk management thing in vista. xD lol
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

wow. i congratulate you on buying amd and keeping the dream alive.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Woot! Santa wears brown...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumping_Bean514 View Post
Depending on which SATA port you put it into determines the slave. Ex: You have 3 SATA ports labeled 1,2, and 3 respectively. If you connect a drive to port 1 its automatically the Master and the drives plugged into 2 and 3 are slaves.
Wait, then why do i have like a lot of masters on my board?

I have the ASUS P5B Deluxe and on the manual it says all the red ones are master and the black ones are slave, the sata things. But I have like 4 red ones and like 2 black ones, does that mean I have like 4 master drives and 2 slave ones?

How does that work, i really dont get the slave and master thing. So if I want to install windows vista on my raptor 150 gb, i put that on the red sata port since its master. Now where do i put my 320 gb seagate ones? on the black sata ports where it is a slave? or can i still put it on the red port and use it as a hard drive where i put files in but not any OS.

Or is the reason why i have like 4 of those master ones is so i can set raid arrays onto it? Hm........ . I think thats it isnt it?


Edit: And oh good luck on your build. Lucky you, didnt get any bad parts sent to you by newegg. I got a bad PSU
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.