Woot just recieved rma! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2006, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Woot just recieved rma!

alright, my e6600 is finally in..... only because i could not use my paypal its not being shipped to my house... lol.. its at my friend house a couple blocks down....

sadly because of that i will not be using it for another 6 or 7 hours....

i'm hoping all goes well this time because nothing has been recently!!!

anyway... i'll ask some basic question, because maybe i was doing something wrong before

with lga 775, there's nothing fancy about putting in the cpu is there??? just, let it fall into the pins correct? then just lock the latch down and put on the hsf?

and for raptor owners!!! (i just got one!!) how long does it take to install windows with it?

e6600 owners, what seems to be the limit of oc'ing, and what kinda voltages and temps did you see... (i'm on stock hsf )

if i can reach 3.09 ghz on my opteron 146... i'm hoping i can suicide run 4.0 ghz on a conroe!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Great, now is the time of my demise as the SuperPI 1M record holder.

Okay, you should check out "Core 2 Duo overclocking thread" as it has a lot of information, read it all the way through to get a feel of what Idiotech and I did, and others' as well.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=119945

The highest I could get mine was 3.5ghz at 1.5v, I think I'm going to stick it back in my DS3 and give it another run though.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya, i've been keeping up with the most of it.. because i wanted to know how it oc'd before hand.. and i'm very impressed by it.. it seems overwhelmingly easy to overclock it.. easily hitting the 400 mhz mark of the ram...

its been a while since i've been in the oc game.. and never worked with pentium.. but from what i'm seeing, i'm guessing its pretty easy...

after all my stupid money problems... i may consider water cooling

ya.. the computer i sent got all banged up by ups.. and the video card fell out of its socket and took the sound card out with it... (stupid heavy x1900xt).... sounds like the sound card still works though, the drivers just won't install for the guy... so i gotta refund him 400 dollars.. of course he's sending back the x1900xt and x-fi.. hopefully i can get those to work so i can get off this 7300 gt that i have...

i noticed i said pentium up there... lol... same crap, but anyway, i take that back, i overclocked a celeron for my cousin.. took it from 2.0 ghz, to 2.2... only because that was as far as the ram would let me take it.. and the crappy mobo had no options on changing dividers or voltage.. lol.. it actually made a big difference performance-wise though
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Tell me you insured it with UPS .....
The General is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

sadly no.. no i didnt, i didnt have that extra like 5 bucks at the time so i couldnt... so i'm stuck paying back 400 dollars... and another life lesson learned... lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

I installed windows XP PRO 32bit on my 36GB in about 15 minutes... it was super quick!
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well techie's bad news!!! ****ing thing came in... and still the son of a ***** didnt work........ i guess it was the **** mobo this whole **** time!!!!

stupid thing still does the same crap... stays on for a second.. i hear the hdd's going up, the cd drive is loading.. all the fans are spinning... then.. BOOM shut off....

i'm getting really impatient with this crap... things are just going terrible for me.. and it sucks!!!

okay.. imma try to rma this damned mobo... i'm hoping this will solve it all... if it doesnt.. then dammit, imma turn it all in and stick to socket 939!!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Auroran Send a message via Yahoo to Auroran
Default

Sure your Heatsink and fan are ok? i got this AMD Ath XP Socket A, and i had probs with overheating and i switched to my friends old heatsink fan and the fan its self was broken and i would start the comp the fans and ever thing would start but then it would just shut down. Now i have a antec and it runs perfect. I dunno if thats your prob just takeing a guess.
Auroran is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Are you sure the powersupply is okay?

Auroran your signature is way to big.
The General is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 11:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

hehe

last computer I built (for myself was pentium pro days...dual cpu baby)...then couple years later athlon for my sis. Then a year later e6600 for me...all with no probs.

what u ppl doin?

you can ship it to my work...I'll look at it...then ship it back to ya. Post paid both ways of course

you in Cal, me in Fla
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.