witch is better right now a athlon 63 3700 san diego or a athon 3800 x2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 170
Default witch is better right now a athlon 63 3700 san diego or a athon 3800 x2

witch is better right now for gamming a athlon 64 3700 or a athlon 64 x2 3800
__________________

threemooses is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

if you can afford it get the x2
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

x2. much more future proof than the single core
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Right now is the 3700. Twice the cache and 200MHz faster.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

I really hate the phrase 'future proof' now because of you people.

3700+.

In the future when games use dual core, the 3800 X2 will be on the bottom of the food chain. 512kb L2 cache? 2.0 ghz? Not much headroom. If you're thinking about dual core gaming in the future, you better be thinking at least an Opteron 165/170.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Twizted_3kgt
I really hate the phrase 'future proof' now because of you people.

3700+.

In the future when games use dual core, the 3800 X2 will be on the bottom of the food chain. 512kb L2 cache? 2.0 ghz? Not much headroom. If you're thinking about dual core gaming in the future, you better be thinking at least an Opteron 165/170.
A) there already games using dual core the most known being quake 4 with SMP patch.

B) 3800+ x2 is going to kill a 3700+ in any muti-threaded game.

C) nothing future proof but most people dont buy a new computer every 6 mounths so you get what you can when you do buy. He going to be much happier with the 3800+ X2 in 6 mounths.

D) athlons not that cache bound (due to it onboard memory controller) so the 512cache not going to make a huge difference.

E) 200mhz you talking 5fps most of the time max.

In conclusion unless you keeping your computer less then 6 mounths go with the 3800+ x2.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by threemooses
witch is better right now for gamming a athlon 64 3700 or a athlon 64 x2 3800
At this very moment, and for the next 8 months, the 3700+ will beat the X2 3800+.

Quote:
Originally posted by Twizted_3kgt
In the future when games use dual core, the 3800 X2 will be on the bottom of the food chain. 512kb L2 cache? 2.0 ghz? Not much headroom. If you're thinking about dual core gaming in the future, you better be thinking at least an Opteron 165/170.
You're missing the complete specs of the X2 3800+. There are TWO 512MB cache cores, and TWO seperate cores running at 2.0GHz. Thats pretty much the same as a Opteron 165/170. There is A LOT of headroom there. A X2 3800+ would be like a FX-55 in a multi-threaded game.

Then again, thats a long ways away. 8 Months. I'll be writing my college applications by the time major Dual Core games come out...



Quote:
Originally posted by mgoldb2
E) 200mhz you talking 5fps most of the time max.

In conclusion unless you keeping your computer less then 6 mounths go with the 3800+ x2.
While you were right about most of the stuff, 200MHz can mean A LOT mroe than 5FPS max in a game. BF2 is a pretty well-rounded game, and 200MHz can make probably 15FPS difference.

And its not simply, "If you're keeping you PC more than 6 months, get a Dual Core." A 3700+ will still kick a$$ when Dual Core games come out, a X2 3800+ will simply kick MORE a$$. And if he's asking about RIGHT NOW, then the 3700+ is a clear winner.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker

While you were right about most of the stuff, 200MHz can mean A LOT mroe than 5FPS max in a game. BF2 is a pretty well-rounded game, and 200MHz can make probably 15FPS difference.
can you show me where you found that information? I have not seen those results anywhere. at Xbit labs they acturally have a fx-57 and a athlon 64 3200 within 2FPS of each other battlefield 2 1280X1024 FSAA 4X High Quilty. At lower setting you might be right but I dont buy computers to play on low settings and unless your computer low end you proberly dont even need those extra FPS on lower setting. The truth of the matter most games are video card bond even if you have a 7800GTX so the cpu not going to make a big difference till you get to the lower end. Even thoe I have seem some impressive FPS of dual core beating single core in quake 4 with SMP patch.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Dont tell any of this to my 3800+X2 running at 2.4
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Or my 3200+ running at 2.7GHz...
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.