Windows XP 32bit and memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2009, 10:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Default Windows XP 32bit and memory?

If I'm getting a Phenom II x4 965 3.4gig and 6 gigs of memory and i'm running it on Windows XP 32bit. Will i get the 3.4gigs from my processor and the 6 gigs from my memory?
__________________

Psytonix is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Windows XP 32bit and memory?

the cpu's GHz speed is not ram. that is how fast the processor operates. the RAM (memory) is what you should be conserned with. you have 6GB which will not be recgonized by XP 32 bit. you need a 64 bit OS to use all 6GB of ram.

i personally recommend windows 7 64 bit when it comes out.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Default Re: Windows XP 32bit and memory?

Alright Thanks a lot.
Psytonix is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Windows XP 32bit and memory?

As Phil stated, CPU speed and RAM are different. GHz=Gigahertz which is a measurement of frequency. And +1 to getting Windows 7 x64 when it comes out. It's a waste to use 6GB RAM in XP 32, because you would only be using ~1/2 of it.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Currently on windows xp. Want to get dx10 and have vista 32bit key. Is it worth it? stainer711 Microsoft Windows and Software 17 01-03-2009 09:22 AM
Windows shut down - blue screen - physical dump Kilawatt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 12-05-2008 10:16 PM
Windows 32bit and memory Thresh25 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-12-2008 05:00 PM
32bit Windows: more than 2Gb mem Andyf Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2008 01:45 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.