Windows Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2006, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Question Windows Question

I recently odered all the new parts for my new gaming rig. All that is left is the OS. Windows xp pro is $40 mor than home edition. Is the pro edition worth it. Also, and more importantly, i read that home edition cannot support multiple processors where the pro edition can support 2. Does this mean that xp home wont be able to handle the AMD X2 that i just got?

tanda317 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

just go with home.. i havent really noticed a difference between my pro and home version. They can both handle your processor.. i too was a bit worried about my old windows xp being able to detect my processor... but i think thats more of a mobo issue than a windows issue

Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
zmatt's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660

windows xp pro has some better networking stuff. and some cool cmd comands but other than that theres no difference.

<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

You will need service pack 2 for windows to see the other processor. I went with Pro due to the price difference was soo close, but home would have been adequte.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333

You will be fine with XP Home. If you are purchasing, I think you will find that the XP Home w/ SP2 is what is out there for sale. A lot of people are referring to the core XP Home (not sold for a long time now) when they mention SP2 being needed.
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.