Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2007, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

is this because my windows XP disk is too old?

if i get a newer one, it should recognize it as 200GB right?

or does this have something to do with my motherboard's configurations that i have to tamper with
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

Enable 48bit LBA Mode. (Google).
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

it might be partioned have u checked?
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

If you do not have windows service pack two your computer will cap all your hard drives at 130 or so. DL and install sp2 and your problem should be resolved
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 05:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

SP1 also enables 48bit LBA mode. You can also enable it manually, or by using X-Setup (check my sig for download).
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 05:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

write the HD company and tell them they shorted you and you would like them to send you 70 GB in the mail !!!
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 09:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

lol and they would say get lost.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

imagine them sending you a 70gb hd thats messed up
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

better yet, slipstream SP2 into your XP disc.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 01:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default Re: Windows only recognizes 137GB of my 200GB HDD

Wow you ppl have so many complicated resolutions for a simple problem. DL SP AND INSTALL IT. Its that simple......
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows xp file sharing coolray Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-06-2008 06:08 PM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows XP ACPI help!!! Matth3w Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-06-2007 06:37 AM
Windows Activation Problem SmellyOne Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-28-2007 09:16 PM
Windows XP CD Key on 2 PCs !!Need Help with this ASAP!! spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-08-2007 06:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.