Win XP x64 Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2006, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default Win XP x64 Question

I'm lookin into buying Windows XP Pro x64-Edition but i know it used to have problems. Did they fix most (or all.... unlikely) of the problems. I'm upgrading soon and i'm either gettin media center or pro x64.

just in case you want to kno heres the parts i'm gettin for my upgrade

AMD Opteron 144
DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
HIS Radeon X1800GTO (well dont kno wut company to get it from yet but i'm def gettin a X1800GTO)
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

there are no problems with it, check your hardware driver's though.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there are problems with it. there are some software packages you may not be able to run as there are problems with its 32 bit emulation software. 64 bit drivers are a major problem and you will have to get 64 bit versions of most software
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
there are problems with it. there are some software packages you may not be able to run as there are problems with its 32 bit emulation software. 64 bit drivers are a major problem and you will have to get 64 bit versions of most software
Hardware support is the biggest issue but it's fairly easy today to find proper drivers if you just built your PC but things are still not desirable with that.

As for 32 bit software it will run virtually ALL 32 bit programs unless they have 16 bit installers or components with a FEW expections. You don't have to get 64 bit software for software but it is desirable.


Personal Experiance
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 01:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

well the reason i dont have it is because of cost, as well as my drivers for my wireless card (D-link has "no intensions" of making 64 bit drivers for my card....)

but also, my ZoneAlarm doesnt work with it!! i want to marry ZA, lol
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 02:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I wouldn't get Media Center. My friend has Media Center, and it's retarded (imho). Like almost every program you run, it is bugging you about security and allowing the program to run, yada yada. There is probally a setting somewhere to turn that off, but I'll be damned if I can find it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 09:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Ok so i'm narrowin it down to x64 and xp pro. I looked for 64-bit drivers for all my hardware and i can find them all cept my wireless card (D-Link DWL-520+). so if i install the 32-bit wireless card driver will it still work?
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 10:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
I wouldn't get Media Center. My friend has Media Center, and it's retarded (imho). Like almost every program you run, it is bugging you about security and allowing the program to run, yada yada. There is probally a setting somewhere to turn that off, but I'll be damned if I can find it.
Man you are going to hate Windows Vista, Linux, and UNIX then .


Oddly enough I don't remember you can try to install a 32 bit driver but I am almost positive that it will not work. There may be other drivers out there for it that are not official I had to do that for my Sound Blaster for Linux and my Yamaha AC97 Audio for Windows 2003 at one time. Driver guide may be able to help you check there.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 10:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Ok thanks i think i might just go with XP Pro (not x64-bit). I've used Pro in the past and i loved it and had no problems with it. Thanks for all the help
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.