Will this work? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2005, 08:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

that is nice, go that rig, great idea saving then upgrading, thats what im in the process of doing except with 512 sticks
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Also how good will this run BF2?
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

most definitely.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

First of all, you choose a POS PSU, and the case u choose also comes with one, however don't use that one, Most power supplies that come with cases are crap.

A power supply is the heart of your system, go cheap there and you will regret it when it dies and takes your rig with it.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103932
Antec TruePower 550Watt ATX 2.0
I reccomend that one.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I can't use that PSU because the 12V cables are only 19A I need at least 26A to run my GPU. If you think that I need a more reliable PSU what do you recommend that has at least a 12V cable @ 26A.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

ok hold on.

Im pretty sure if a PSU has dual 12V rails its ok, cause there is no PSU I can find that has 26+ amps on 12V rail that is also dual 12V.


Hope fully someone will chime in and help me out.

This one has 33 amps on 12V rail but it is not dual 12V rails.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104152
OCZ 520Watt ^^
Ste is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I'm confused, so if a PSU has dual 12V rails it will run a 7800GTX fine with no problem? And the PSU I was looking at was at 34A. I don't want to be a cheapskate, and I don't want to kill my rig, but is there anyother PSU that will run my rig well that is cheaper, by the way I have no plans of going SLI. And I am probably going to get a more beginner case, I've read that larger PSU's don't fit without moving the top fan, and that the case isn't for beginners.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

if the Case is ATX and the motherboard is ATX then an ATX power supply will fit and work.

I do believe that a PSU with dual 12V rails will handle what you need however I am not sure, i will find out though.

as for brands of respected PSU's in my opinion they are
ocz, enermax, antec, forton source and PC Power and cooling.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I thought dual 12V was only for SLI systems?

EDIT

I meant I thought they were designed for SLI systems.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

no, I have an ATX 2.0 and don't have sli.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.