Will this work? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2014, 08:13 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
RAM
Team Elite Plus 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model TPD38G1600C11DC01 - Newegg.com

You don't really need anything else. Only need a wifi card if you need to connect to a wireless network. If you'll be hard wire then don't need it.
What about a disc drive?
__________________

Getoffmycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 08:46 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Will this work?

They're pretty much all 19 bucks, so here's one with free shipping.

LG Internal 24x Super Multi with M-DISC Support SATA Model GH24NSC0B - Newegg.com
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 03:11 AM   #23 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Will this work?

Also in answer to one of your questions, Thermal Compound and Heatsinks are both used to keep certain components cool. Usually the CPU and GPU. There are many types of heatsinks, but the ones I've seen have copper pipes to absorb heat, and then it's spread across a bunch of metal plates. The thermal compound is the catalyst for heat transfer. Without it, the amount of heat moved from the CPU or GPU to the heatsink would be much lower. So it's always a good idea to check your thermal paste every once in a while, just to make sure it isn't cracked and dry. If this occurs, it loses some of it's heat moving abilities which can cause components to overheat. This is very common in laptops if they are not serviced in 2 years or more.

An image of a heatsink: (A large one, but still a heatsink haha)
heatsink - Google Search
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 05:07 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
Also in answer to one of your questions, Thermal Compound and Heatsinks are both used to keep certain components cool. Usually the CPU and GPU. There are many types of heatsinks, but the ones I've seen have copper pipes to absorb heat, and then it's spread across a bunch of metal plates. The thermal compound is the catalyst for heat transfer. Without it, the amount of heat moved from the CPU or GPU to the heatsink would be much lower. So it's always a good idea to check your thermal paste every once in a while, just to make sure it isn't cracked and dry. If this occurs, it loses some of it's heat moving abilities which can cause components to overheat. This is very common in laptops if they are not serviced in 2 years or more.

An image of a heatsink: (A large one, but still a heatsink haha)
heatsink - Google Search
Do i need thermal paste for this build?
Getoffmycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 11:48 AM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Will this work?

If you plan on sticking with the stock cooler for over 6 months then I would get some. Otherwise no, not at this moment. The stock cooler comes with paste pre-applied.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 07:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Will this work?

Thanks for reminding me PP, I'll add that to my build list xD
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WiFi doesn't work on pc/mac, but DOES work on laptops/phones. DenVanA Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 3 08-02-2014 03:36 PM
I can not access our work’s website from work zillah Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 16 03-26-2010 10:29 PM
How to work with partitions in Windows Vista / XP when Disk Management doesn’t work Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-12-2007 04:16 PM
One of my Drives doesnt work... Or is it me that doesnt work? Nabon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 12-11-2004 12:51 PM
Dual boot - does it work _| [] |-| /\/ Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-15-2003 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.