Will this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2014, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 12
Default Will this work?

Before I say anything else, I am very new to building a computer. Ive never built one in my life. I am curious if the setup I have to far will work! I am trying to look for pretty cheap but good options for parts. So far I have a case, processor, and GPU in mind. I need ideas for the motherboard especially. I dont know how to tell if everything would work correctly, so if something would be incompatible, could you tell me?

So far I have

GPU: Nvidia GTX 760
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k
Case: NZXT Phantom 240 Mid Tower
Ram:
Motherboard:
Hard-Drive: Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD
Power Supply:
DVD Drive:
Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit
Monitor:

Would there be anything else I need? Also what is thermal compound and Heatsink? Are these required for my setup? Please tell me if there is anything wrong with this so far and what items I should use for the unfilled spaces! Thank you all so much!
__________________

Getoffmycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Getoffmycat View Post
Before I say anything else, I am very new to building a computer. Ive never built one in my life. I am curious if the setup I have to far will work! I am trying to look for pretty cheap but good options for parts. So far I have a case, processor, and GPU in mind. I need ideas for the motherboard especially. I dont know how to tell if everything would work correctly, so if something would be incompatible, could you tell me?

So far I have

GPU: Nvidia GTX 760
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k
Case: NZXT Phantom 240 Mid Tower
Ram:
Motherboard:
Hard-Drive: Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD
Power Supply:
DVD Drive:
Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit
Monitor:

Would there be anything else I need? Also what is thermal compound and Heatsink? Are these required for my setup? Please tell me if there is anything wrong with this so far and what items I should use for the unfilled spaces! Thank you all so much!
I'm not the resident expert but i know when they come on they will ask the following:

What do you plan to use the computer for? And what is your budget?
__________________

the1truegamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,325
Default Re: Will this work?

Yes that, and no to the 3770k.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yes that, and no to the 3770k.
What?
Getoffmycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 10:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work?

I plan on using this for gaming btw
Getoffmycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 02:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,325
Default Re: Will this work?

Exactly, then don't get the 3770k. If you haven't bought it, get an i5 4440 or i5 4690k instead
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 02:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Exactly, then don't get the 3770k. If you haven't bought it, get an i5 4440 or i5 4690k instead
Arent i7s better though?
Getoffmycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 05:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Will this work?

Only difference from the I5 to I7 is hyper-threading which games don't use. So the equivalent I7 to I5 with perform the same in gaming but the I5 is $100 cheaper. The 3770K is also a older I7 being the ivy bridge. The newer is the haswell bridge which is the current generation.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 10:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Will this work?

I just build a new gaming PC around an i5 4690K and i could not be happier. Trust me, take the money you can save from the i7 that you don't need and put it towards a better GPU. Also, if you give us an idea of your budget it would be easier to make recommendations on parts.
the1truegamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,325
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
Only difference from the I5 to I7 is hyper-threading which games don't use. So the equivalent I7 to I5 with perform the same in gaming but the I5 is $100 cheaper. The 3770K is also a older I7 being the ivy bridge. The newer is the haswell bridge which is the current generation.
No bridge, just Haswell.

OP, I made a guide explaining why HT or more cores isn't the answer. To add to the previous post, a budget would be appreciated and also you specified a monitor slot. Is the monitor included in the budget?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WiFi doesn't work on pc/mac, but DOES work on laptops/phones. DenVanA Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 3 08-02-2014 03:36 PM
I can not access our work’s website from work zillah Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 16 03-26-2010 10:29 PM
How to work with partitions in Windows Vista / XP when Disk Management doesn’t work Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-12-2007 04:16 PM
One of my Drives doesnt work... Or is it me that doesnt work? Nabon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 12-11-2004 12:51 PM
Dual boot - does it work _| [] |-| /\/ Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-15-2003 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.