Will this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2009, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Will this work?

Hi, im attempting (with some help from a friend) to build a pc from scratch for the first time.

Its going to be a PC based around gaming, but i mainly want to double check that these parts will work together, and not blow each other up when i put them together!


Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3P Intel P45
MotherBoard

320 GB Samsung HD322HJ Spinpoint F1
Hard Drive

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
Processor

Pioneer DVR-217FBK 20x DVDĪR, 12x
DVD Drive

SilverStone TJ04B Black Aluminium
Case

1GB XFX HD 4870 XXX, PCI-E 2.0
Video Card

650W TX Corsair PSU, single 12V
Power Supply

OCZ Platinum Series 4GB (2x2GB)
Memory


Akasa AK-965 CPU Cooler
Heatsink (for processor)

Belkin F5D7001UK 125Mbps
Wireless internet card (only have access to wireless net)






Out of these parts i'm thinking i have a full working machine (without monitor, keyboard, mouse ect as i have these already)

Is there anything i'm missing or doing that is drastically wrong? The aim was to make a decent machine at an affordable cost, this one comes in at around £650

Thank you very much for your time
__________________

lolololage is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Will this work?

I have the graphics card you have in the build and its great for the money but be sure to install the catalyst control center and enable ATI over drive and bump up the fan speed to about 40 percent. Otherwise the auto control will have it idle at 80C instead 40-50c

Im not 100% sure on conversion rates but for about 50 bucks more you can get a terabyte hard drive with the same specs.

1TB Western Digital WD10EADS Caviar Green, SATA 3Gb/s, IntelliPower, 32MB Cache, NCQ - Scan.co.uk
__________________

Toasty411 is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this work?

if you could strech the extra money for the q9400 it is well worth it,

BX80580Q9400 - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400, S775, Yorkfield Core, 2.66 GHz, 1333MHz, 6MB Cache, 8x Ratio, 95W, Retail - Scan.co.uk

i have a q9300 and compared to my friends q6600 i can easily tell mine is alot faster.

better overclocker too, i got mine to 4GHz
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty411 View Post
I have the graphics card you have in the build and its great for the money but be sure to install the catalyst control center and enable ATI over drive and bump up the fan speed to about 40 percent. Otherwise the auto control will have it idle at 80C instead 40-50c

Im not 100% sure on conversion rates but for about 50 bucks more you can get a terabyte hard drive with the same specs.

1TB Western Digital WD10EADS Caviar Green, SATA 3Gb/s, IntelliPower, 32MB Cache, NCQ - Scan.co.uk

To be honest, i'm very unlikely to go through 320gb. Never mind a terrabyte. So it really will be a pointless buy.

However I am interested on your help on the video card. How easy is it to do this? Will it affect anything like warranty or are there any other downsides to over clocking the fan?




Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
if you could strech the extra money for the q9400 it is well worth it,

BX80580Q9400 - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400, S775, Yorkfield Core, 2.66 GHz, 1333MHz, 6MB Cache, 8x Ratio, 95W, Retail - Scan.co.uk

i have a q9300 and compared to my friends q6600 i can easily tell mine is alot faster.

better overclocker too, i got mine to 4GHz
Because i've been working on a budget i really did have to stop somewhere. I was hoping to keep the PC to less than £700 once its fully functioning, including any software or add ons i may need.

And anyway, I think that the processor i have should last a while at least, and if i have to upgrade at some point in the future i should be able to (My student loan is running thin this year!)







Thanks again for all the help, the only other issue that no one has answered is whether or not all these pieces are compatible. I presume that because no one has said they wont work, they will.. But i would like to be sure.


One other thing that has crossed my mind, do i have enough cooling on the machine? As far as i can see there is one fan on the case, one on the heat sink and i think there is one of the video card. Will this be sufficient?

Again, thanks for all the input guys.
lolololage is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Will this work?

i dont much about that silverstone case. if are open to a change, you should consider this case

THREE-HUNDRED EU - Antec Three Hundred Black Midi Tower Case w/o PSU - Scan.co.uk

it is from a well known brand, and offers good cooling. if you really wanna make sure your stuff is cool, you can buy 2 120mm fans to place in the front which will offer high cooling. plus it is cheaper. and yes, everything will work.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolololage View Post
To be honest, i'm very unlikely to go through 320gb. Never mind a terrabyte. So it really will be a pointless buy.

However I am interested on your help on the video card. How easy is it to do this? Will it affect anything like warranty or are there any other downsides to over clocking the fan?






Because i've been working on a budget i really did have to stop somewhere. I was hoping to keep the PC to less than £700 once its fully functioning, including any software or add ons i may need.

And anyway, I think that the processor i have should last a while at least, and if i have to upgrade at some point in the future i should be able to (My student loan is running thin this year!)







Thanks again for all the help, the only other issue that no one has answered is whether or not all these pieces are compatible. I presume that because no one has said they wont work, they will.. But i would like to be sure.


One other thing that has crossed my mind, do i have enough cooling on the machine? As far as i can see there is one fan on the case, one on the heat sink and i think there is one of the video card. Will this be sufficient?

Again, thanks for all the input guys.


yes everything will work fine together, and the stock cooling is sufficient as long as you are not going to overclock.

bumping up the fan speed on the video card is very easy, it does not void the warranty or any thing like that.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Will this work?

Thanks, i probably will go for that case then.


Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
yes everything will work fine together, and the stock cooling is sufficient as long as you are not going to overclock.

bumping up the fan speed on the video card is very easy, it does not void the warranty or any thing like that.
Perfect, if i was to overclock (probably something i will look at at some point) what would everyone recommend?

What would be a sufficient overclock for the processor i have?
__________________

lolololage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7 GreenMan415 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-29-2008 08:21 PM
New guts/old case/will this work? SirLucian System Upgrades 9 12-24-2008 12:49 PM
The New, Hopefully Bug Free Folding@Home Thread! macdude425 Folding @ Home 928 12-07-2008 07:18 PM
Will a EVGA 8600GTS [GDDR3] work in an ECS G31T-M with a Q9550? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-06-2008 06:53 PM
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 07:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.