Will This Work? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2008, 09:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Will This Work?

Agreed ^

Also if your running Vista on Warhammer i suggest 4gig of ram since Warhammer chews through RAM.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 10:24 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default Re: Will This Work?

all right, so i picked out one of the 6 or so P5Q mobos, it says it supports 240pin DDR2 1200(o.c.)/1066 ram, my ram is DDR2 1066 (240pin), so that will work right?

also, does PCI Express 2.0 x16 work in a pci express x16 slot? or do i need a 2.0 slot

Thanks for helping my noob ***,
Phate
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 10:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default Re: Will This Work?

Redmo0n: im actually running XP on this computer still, i know micro$oft sucks, but XP is still better then crappy vista (and i know, my laptop runs vista, i much prefer xp)

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 10:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Will This Work?

I use vista myself and love it, there is nothing wrong with it and i find it better than XP. Also Microsoft are a great company imo.

PCI 2.0 is backwards computable and will work with x16.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 11:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default Re: Will This Work?

just realized that im going to need a new heatsink/fan for my CPU, since im changing chipsets AND getting a new mobo... any idea about that? im looking at them but they all seem so similar...
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 11:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Will This Work?

Arctic Freezer Pro 7 or a Rifle.

Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

Newegg.com - XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 07:04 PM
vista games that DONT work? Cheeseking25 PC Gaming 20 10-25-2007 08:26 PM
Getting dyndns to work with cpanel phandentium ISP and Web Hosting 1 09-30-2007 06:35 PM
After lan party, internet doesn't work..? rob468 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-17-2007 06:07 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.