Will this setup work for me? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Default Will this setup work for me?

Gosh, I never knew building my own system would be so difficult. I'm having a hard time figuring out which processor is compatible with my motherboard I think you have to go by the socket type right? Ok, heres the system I would like to get:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131511
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116196
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811170020
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106988
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823126131
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144393
ATI Radeon® 9550 256MB AGP Video Card
Creative Labs Sound Blaster® Audigy™ 2 Value (SB0400)
Logitech® X-230 2.1 Stereo System (970123-0403)
Insignia 17" CRT Monitor - Black Model: IS-CM100641


Well, that's about it, this is my dream system. I plan on doing just about eveything with this system: video editing, video encoding, gaming ect... Thanks for taking the time to help me out with this daunting task.
__________________

steven01 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

You probably don't want to hear this, but have you considered AMD? That isn't the best video card around, AMD may give you that little boost when gaming.
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yeah a 9550 video card is pretty bad, and for video edcoding and all that stuff you may want to look into a dual core X2 processor from amd and get at least a 6600GT i would also be looking into 2GB of ram.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Do not use the Power Supply that comes with the case. It blows.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103924
Antec NEOPOWER 480W ATX 2.0
Ste is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What do you plan on doing with that setup? Browsing the internet and Word right?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

oh yeah i forgot to add that, hey Ste, antec isnt the only company out there lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
oh yeah i forgot to add that, hey Ste, antec isnt the only company out there lol
I know, However, When thier budget is right, I will usally reccomend other companies such as enermax, OCZ, Forton or PC Power and cooling. If they have the specific budget for them.

But Antec is pretty tops in my mind.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Heh, everyone is saying go with AMD it seems. I thought intel was the fastest for most stuff? I've seen some up to 3.8ghz. I really like intel though, so I'll probably stick with them. So, if I get this system will everything work? Someone was telling me on another fourm that my motherboard needs the ATX version 2.0 power connections or an adapter. Anyone know what this is? And what's wrong with the power supply? Is 420 watts not sufficient?
steven01 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by steven01
Heh, everyone is saying go with AMD it seems. I thought intel was the fastest for most stuff? I've seen some up to 3.8ghz. I really like intel though, so I'll probably stick with them. So, if I get this system will everything work? Someone was telling me on another fourm that my motherboard needs the ATX version 2.0 power connections or an adapter. Anyone know what this is? And what's wrong with the power supply? Is 420 watts not sufficient?

Let me explain something to you about AMD and Intel.

AMD 3800 = P4 3.8ghz.

Clock speed means nothing. The 3800 in the AMD's title means it performs just as well as a P4 3.8ghz. AMD has managed to keep up with intel but at a lower clock speed.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Tell him the brick story... something about 5 bricks twice or 10 bricks or something... No, but seriously, AMD performs. Clock speed is not an indicator to how many operations the processor can perform.

The video card is hurting. I'd go with a 9800 if it's in the budget. Also, if a PCIe capable motherboard is in the budget, then I'd go for that too, so you can be a little less backward.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.