Will this setup work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2012, 05:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 31
Default Will this setup work?

Hello everyone, Chris here!

Im going to build a computer. I want it to be good for Gaming, After Effects/Premiere
I want a good render time, and i want my After effects and Premiere and games to work fast and great.

i don't know too much about setting up a PC but i got a clue. So here is the setup i came up with:

Seagate Barracuda 1TB
SATA 6Gb/s (SATA 3.0), 64MB Cache, 7200RPM, 3.5"

ASUS P8Z77-M, Socket-1155
m-ATX, Z77, DDR3, 1xG3+1xG2-PCIe-x16, CFX, VGA, DVI, HDMI, UEFI

Intel Core i7-2600K Processor
Socket-LGA1155, Quad Core, 3.4Ghz, 8MB, 95W, Boxed w/fan

ASUS Radeon HD 7770 2GB GDDR5
PCI-EXPRESS 3.0, DVI-I+DVI-D, DisplayPort, native-HDMI
Cooler Master HAF 922 Midi Tower Black

Corsair HX 750W PSU

Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 8GB CL10


What i am intressted in being able to do:

Eyefinity (3 Screens for gaming)
Good Render Time for AE and Premiere
I wanna be able to upgrade my ram to 32 later on.
I wanna Get another same graphic card and crossfire.

Will this work with this setup?
Is the graphic card good for the latest games out there (like battlefiled 3)
How well will it run with Battlefield 3?

Would really be great to hear your opinion!

Thanks alot for your time!
__________________

Chriskaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Will this setup work?

the 7770 will play bf3 (and other new games), but how well depends on your resolution and settings. if you're looking for more gaming performance, youre going to have to add another $50 to $100 at least.

if you want to play bf3 on 3 screens, youll have to take the settings way down.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Will this setup work?

A 7970 at 3 1080p screens requires low and medium settings to run BF3 so a 7770 probably wont handle it very well. If you can handle not being able to play BF3 or such demanding games till you get Crossfire then the 7770 will...work.
Honestly, if you want to run Eyefinity while gaming then you will need beefier graphics.

That 922 will handle a full size board so I'm curious as to why you chose an mATX?

Also, if your budget will handle it I recommend grabbing an SSD for your OS and BF3. It really helps a ton with loading times.

If you aren't OCing then I also will recommend the 3770 or 3570 over the 2600k. You only need a K class CPU if you want to OC.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 31
Default Re: Will this setup work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
A 7970 at 3 1080p screens requires low and medium settings to run BF3 so a 7770 probably wont handle it very well. If you can handle not being able to play BF3 or such demanding games till you get Crossfire then the 7770 will...work.
Honestly, if you want to run Eyefinity while gaming then you will need beefier graphics.

That 922 will handle a full size board so I'm curious as to why you chose an mATX?

Also, if your budget will handle it I recommend grabbing an SSD for your OS and BF3. It really helps a ton with loading times.

If you aren't OCing then I also will recommend the 3770 or 3570 over the 2600k. You only need a K class CPU if you want to OC.


So you recomend the Intel® Core i7-3770 Processor over the i7 2600k? Why so, whats the diffrence really? Just wondring, not really got at this My first try building one haha
And i found an SSD:

OCZ SSD Agility 3 Series 2.5" 60GB
SATA 6 Gb/s (SATA3.0), 525MB/475MB/s read/write, SandForce® SF-2281

Is that a good one?


And does the case not fit the Motherboard? What Case should i pick? or should i pick another motherboard?

Thanks for your help
Chriskaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Will this setup work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriskaar View Post
So you recomend the Intel® Core i7-3770 Processor over the i7 2600k? Why so, whats the diffrence really? Just wondring, not really got at this My first try building one haha
And i found an SSD:

OCZ SSD Agility 3 Series 2.5" 60GB
SATA 6 Gb/s (SATA3.0), 525MB/475MB/s read/write, SandForce® SF-2281

Is that a good one?


And does the case not fit the Motherboard? What Case should i pick? or should i pick another motherboard?

Thanks for your help
The 3770 is faster than the 2600k stock. The K only means that the multiplier is unlocked for overclocking. If you are interested in overclocking then go ahead and keep the 2600k. The 3770 is 10-12% faster than the 2600k stock for only 20 bucks more so I recommended it because it is worth it if you never plan on overclocking your computer.

Yes, the Agility 3 is a good SSD.

The motherboard will fit in the case easily. The motherboard you chose is micro-ATX, meaning it is smaller than a standard ATX board. The 922 can fit all standard ATX boards so was just wondering why you chose an mATX board over the bigger ones. Just for the record, the motherboard is fine. I was just curious why such a huge case and a tiny motherboard

I personally would concentrate more on GPU power than CPU power, but that is just my opinion since you want to do Eyefinity and BF3.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 31
Default Re: Will this setup work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The 3770 is faster than the 2600k stock. The K only means that the multiplier is unlocked for overclocking. If you are interested in overclocking then go ahead and keep the 2600k. The 3770 is 10-12% faster than the 2600k stock for only 20 bucks more so I recommended it because it is worth it if you never plan on overclocking your computer.

Yes, the Agility 3 is a good SSD.

The motherboard will fit in the case easily. The motherboard you chose is micro-ATX, meaning it is smaller than a standard ATX board. The 922 can fit all standard ATX boards so was just wondering why you chose an mATX board over the bigger ones. Just for the record, the motherboard is fine. I was just curious why such a huge case and a tiny motherboard

I personally would concentrate more on GPU power than CPU power, but that is just my opinion since you want to do Eyefinity and BF3.

I have no idea why i picked a micro motherboard, haha it was looking good that's all, but is a normal motherboard cheaper? Can i get the same performance with an normal motherboard, but cheaper or? should i just stick with the one i choosed?

Eyefinity isnt a must for BF3, i know it will require alot of power! but if im atleast im able to run in 1080p and beeing able to record BF3 and other new games and to edit same time as im multitasking with other programs (like having Photoshop, After FX open at the same time, maybe even Adobe Premiere (browser) ). and having a good render time. then im good to go i think
Chriskaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Will this setup work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriskaar View Post
I have no idea why i picked a micro motherboard, haha it was looking good that's all, but is a normal motherboard cheaper? Can i get the same performance with an normal motherboard, but cheaper or? should i just stick with the one i choosed?

Eyefinity isnt a must for BF3, i know it will require alot of power! but if im atleast im able to run in 1080p and beeing able to record BF3 and other new games and to edit same time as im multitasking with other programs (like having Photoshop, After FX open at the same time, maybe even Adobe Premiere (browser) ). and having a good render time. then im good to go i think
If you want an ATX alternative that will give a bit more features, here is one.
Newegg.com - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

If you want to do all that, then I might say go ahead and grab 16GB of RAM so you don't have any unnecessary swapping to your drive. The card will play BF3 at 1080p but not at high settings.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 31
Default Re: Will this setup work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If you want an ATX alternative that will give a bit more features, here is one.
Newegg.com - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

If you want to do all that, then I might say go ahead and grab 16GB of RAM so you don't have any unnecessary swapping to your drive. The card will play BF3 at 1080p but not at high settings.
Have any tips on good graphic cards?

Thanks
Chriskaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Will this setup work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriskaar View Post
Have any tips on good graphic cards?

Thanks
All depends really on budget. 6870, 570, 670, 7950/7970. All good cards.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 31
Default Re: Will this setup work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
All depends really on budget. 6870, 570, 670, 7950/7970. All good cards.
Thanks alot for your time man! hopefully ill get a good PC from this.

Thanks!
__________________

Chriskaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this Setup Work? Turner21 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-12-2012 05:38 PM
Will this Setup Work? momboom1 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 07-05-2011 02:49 PM
Will this setup work for me? steven01 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-19-2005 01:55 PM
Will this setup work? mx416 Overclocking and Modding 4 08-02-2005 11:00 PM
Will this setup work? DontStealMyFish Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 03-06-2004 12:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.