will this ram work with these specs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 07:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 119
Default will this ram work with these specs?

hi guys, yet another question from me:

will this ram:

GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400C5 800MHz Value DDR2 Dual Channel Kit (GX22GB6400DC)

work with my pc:

amd athlon x2 4800
asrock dual vsta mobo


i just dont know if my parts work with ddr2, i dont know the difference!!

thanks guys,

hazza
__________________

hazza is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: will this ram work with these specs?

Hazza,

From what I'm gathering, those two aren't compatible. I believe this is the motherboard you referenced: ASRock Motherboard - Product - 4CoreDual-VSTA - Overview

The motherboard supports dual channel DDR2 Ram, but only at speeds of up to 667mhz.. the memory you referenced runs at 800mhz.

You will need to buy either all DDR2 memory or all DDR memory (since they are supported separately), but your mobo definitely supports DDR2, just make sure its DDRII 667 or 533 and it should work just fine with your setup.

-Aug
__________________

Augustine is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: will this ram work with these specs?

wrong, the ddr800 will run on that mobo, it will just downclock to 667mhz
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: will this ram work with these specs?

so its not worth getting, unless u get a new mobo soon
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 04:33 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM
Will Barcelona work in AM2? CrazeD New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-11-2007 11:36 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.