will my hiper psu run a 8800gts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 08:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 119
Default will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

hi guys, ive just recieved my evga 8800gts in the post today, i am yet to install it in my machine. i was reading the box and it says under minimum requirements: 400 watt power supply with a minimum of 26 amps on the +12 volt rail.

i have a hiper type r 580 watt power supply, which i thought would handle this card 'a' ok, but ive gone onto hiper's website (Products - Power - HPU-4B580) and it says :

Output Parameter

+5V ( 5%)
2.0A - 36A

*****+12V 1 ( 5%)
*****1.0A - 20A

*****+12V 2 ( 5%)
*****1.0A - 18A

-12V ( 10%)
0A - 0.8A

+5VSB ( 5%)
0 - 2.5A

+3.3V ( 5%)
0.5 - 30A



as ive shown with the *****, on one +12v rail there are 20amps, and on the other there are 18amps.

so will my power supply be able to run this card? do you add the 20amps and 18amps together?

am i going to need a new powersupply? :-(
is anyone running the same psu and gfx without problems?

thanks in advance

hazza
__________________

hazza is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

The Hiper will do you just fine. Hipers are actually pretty decent while they work. The big drawback to Hiper (from what some have said) is they dont last as long as a lot of other psu's. You may only get a year or two of good service out of them, but during that time frame they are solid enough. The 26A referenced in the requirements is "combined" amperage, and you have 38A combined.
__________________

Paisan is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 119
Default Re: will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

awesome!! after that time i would be upgrading my machine anyway i suppose!
hazza is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

now put the thing in and get gaming noob.
slashnmash is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

I run an 8800 GTS with my Hiper 580W. It works great.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

Quote:
Originally Posted by slashnmash View Post
now put the thing in and get gaming noob.
don't filter bypass.....

but easy and firm yes...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

It was a joke as Hazza is a RL friend of mine who has been unable to game for sometime, turning him into noob status. I apologize to those who found the word inappropriate.
slashnmash is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: will my hiper psu run a 8800gts

i didn't mean it like that, i meant like edit it quick b4 the mods give u an infraction...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista, Lost Planet, and 8800GTS issue. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-30-2007 05:15 PM
Will an 8800GTS be enough for a good gaming system. Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-12-2007 12:46 PM
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
Free copy of Dawn of War with the purchase of an gigabyte 8800gts 320mb veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-17-2007 09:09 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.