Will My Cpu Bottleneck my Cards??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 11:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

Well that is what this forum is for. People who know helping people who don't. Sorry if I brought it back up...
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

no worries, i think there has been a big thing again with the new 7 series geforces.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

basically a new cpu will not bottleneck a graphics card. i agree with Brtnboarder495's post. don't bother with the higher clocked versions of processors because it is to easy to overclock the cheaper model to that speed or even further
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 04:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
basically a new cpu will not bottleneck a graphics card. i agree with Brtnboarder495's post. don't bother with the higher clocked versions of processors because it is to easy to overclock the cheaper model to that speed or even further
but then you can take the even higher clocked one.. and go even further than that... but is that really necessary?? i think not...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 05:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not necessarily true. with enough cooling virtually any of the lower clocked processors should be able to get near the limits of the athlon architecture. i mean for instance i think i could probably get my cpu up to around 2.8ghz given what its demonstrated so far. you would not get the 4600+ or 4800+ much further than 2.8ghz.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.