Will my computer bottleneck? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2009, 08:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Will my computer bottleneck?

Will Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Q8300 (4MB L2, 2.5GHz, 1333FSB) bottleneck with GTX 280?
__________________

kenny9438 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

it could, if the program you are running is not made for quad cores, it will perform like a e5200 and mostlikely bottleneck you some.

have you tried to overclock any?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

It wont bottleneck it anymore then other cpu's in that price range @ stock.
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

well in that price range you can get a e8400, which wouldnt bottleneck a GTX 280 at all. and would be faster core for core and clock for clock than the q8300
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

The e8400 would be faster in applications that don't support quads due to it's higher clock speed and extra 2mb of l2. However in applications that do support quads the q8300 should perform better even at it's lower stock speed.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

is there any bottleneck issues anymore at all? I thought i seen someone post some sort of proof before that as long as it's a duel-core at/above 2.0ghz it won't bottle neck anything?
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

The cpu bottleneck thing is largely over stated. There was a great post about it years ago at the Tom's Hardware forums. When it comes to games that are well written the work a CPU must do is much lighter than that of the video card. In almost every case the cpu will be doing it's job faster than the video card simply because of the work load. This is assuming your cpu is fairly modern. This wouldn't apply to a Pentium 4 running Crysis or anything. But games are almost always GPU limited and the performance increase from Conroe to Wolfdale is 10%. Just look at the benchmarks, cpu changes affect the fps by maybe 3 or 4 frames.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 11:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
it could, if the program you are running is not made for quad cores, it will perform like a e5200 and mostlikely bottleneck you some.

have you tried to overclock any?
Nope and i do not know how..
Btw is there any game using quad core yet?
kenny9438 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 02:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny9438 View Post
Nope and i do not know how..
Btw is there any game using quad core yet?
Supreme Commander forged alliance comes to mind. A few others as well.


CPU bottleneck is obvious in some Valve games on the source engine. Valve recently released an option in settings though so you can take advantage of more cores. This was for TF2 and L4D and showed some great performance results. I'd go for a PhII tri core/quad btw rather then a q8300. You probably will get better performance and wont be on a doomed socket.
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Will my computer bottleneck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPG991 View Post
Supreme Commander forged alliance comes to mind. A few others as well.


CPU bottleneck is obvious in some Valve games on the source engine. Valve recently released an option in settings though so you can take advantage of more cores. This was for TF2 and L4D and showed some great performance results. I'd go for a PhII tri core/quad btw rather then a q8300. You probably will get better performance and wont be on a doomed socket.
This looks like he has a prebuilt and is looking to upgrade his graphics card, I could be wrong but he's not asking about any other components.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Building a computer may lead to nervous breakdown! White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 18 04-09-2009 06:43 PM
Old Computer -> New Computer? JNorris57 System Upgrades 4 03-08-2009 10:19 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 08:47 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.