Will a hd4850 work with my mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2008, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Stryker_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 91
Default Will a hd4850 work with my mobo?

I wanted to know wether my intel G31 micro atx mobo has a 2.0 pci-e x16 slot recquired to run a hd4850???
__________________

Stryker_77 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Will a hd4850 work with my mobo?

need more info

eg this one does have pci-e x16 slot
Intel DG31PR Motherboard - Intel G31 Express, Socket 775, MicroATX, Audio, Video, PCI Express, Gigabit LAN, USB 2.0, Serial ATA - BOXDG31PR

this one doesn't
Intel BOXDG31GL LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail - BOXDG31GL
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Stryker_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Will a hd4850 work with my mobo?

I hv the 1st one you mentioned (dg31pr). Wats the difference between pci-e 2.0 ane pci-e x16?
Stryker_77 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 03:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: Will a hd4850 work with my mobo?

PCI-e 2.0 allows for more data to be transfer and at higher speeds
Kinda like usb 1 and 2

PCI-e 2.0 cards like the 4850 WILL work with a PCI-e x16 slot and you should not be able to tell the difference in performance

Happy Buying :]
SuxoR is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Will a hd4850 work with my mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker_77 View Post
I wanted to know wether my intel G31 micro atx mobo has a 2.0 pci-e x16 slot recquired to run a hd4850???
It will no prob...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.