Will the GTX fit in my case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2007, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Will the GTX fit in my case?

Heres the case, I emasured like 13.5 inches, and it seems like it will fit, as long as i move the hard-drive up one bay.

Here
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

It should fit in your case without a problem.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

The GTX is about 10.6 inches long.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

Well if you're thinking about moving your HDD up another slot, how about moving it into your 3.5" drive bay? I did that and it's at a stable idle and load temperature.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

Isn't it the 5.25" drive bays?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

Nope, 3.5" bays. 5.25" is pretty big.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

I put my hard drives in the 5.25" drive bays, to clear up the way, for the front intake fan.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

Oh, well my HDD bay is empty so the 120mm fan has a clear airflow.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

gtx's are about 11 inches (or a bit less) so it should fit no issues..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Will the GTX fit in my case?

Thanks guys, just prepeping for G92 in november . I gotta move up a hdd, and its in the bay i think (lower portion of the case).

is it ok to have it in the lower PCI-E slot? or will it be just a slower>?
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gonna buy a new case becuase I CAN...not to sure what to get Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 46 08-12-2007 12:05 PM
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
Case mod project: Wc pump/rad housing case schulz269 Overclocking and Modding 18 04-15-2007 02:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.