Will GTX 280 work with my computer? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2009, 11:24 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

well Inspiron 537 is the newest desktop from Dell..i heard its kinda like inspiron 530 but not so sure..can anyone one with the 537 tell me will the psu fit?
Oh and this is a total n00b question..Pcie 2x6+2 pins = 2x8 pins right?
"only thing I would be worried about is if the Dell uses the Dell only PS, if it does that Corsair might be an issue. Nice PS though, I have it in my system."
Can you show me some of the system using Dell only PS?

After some research the guy at the DellCommunity told me that they stopped making proprietary 3or4 years ago..so i dont think there will be a problem.
__________________

kenny9438 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 02:32 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

The 6 +2 pin is the same as an 8 pin yes, same as 24pin motherboards and 20+4 pin solutions.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 02:56 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny9438 View Post
After some research the guy at the DellCommunity told me that they stopped making proprietary 3or4 years ago..so i dont think there will be a problem.
That's good to know and thanks for letting me know that info, Wasn't sure when or if they stopped but have seen both. I love my Corsair TX650

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 08:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

Sorry mate, but that guy is lying. They still use proprietary parts in their machines, trust me.

But the main issue here is if you can fit the PSU, not whether or not it will work. A normal PSU will work on a Dell motherboard. The problem is when you replace a dell motherboard but not the PSU. I have literally seen motherboards melt because of other shops not replacing the PSU in a dell, or not getting a Dell specific motherboard.

The trick here is to see what dimensions your case is going to be, and checking the dimensions on the 650tx. For all intensive purposes, I think you should be fine, but I don't know the measurements.

EDIT: Honestly, I know I've said it before, but in my personal opinion it would be much less of a hassle to cancel the Dell order and build one yourself...it would be cheaper, and you wouldn't have to buy parts to replace stuff. You wouldn't have to worry about something fitting or being compatible because you'll have hand picked the parts out with our help.

Just my two cents mate.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 11:23 AM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Sorry mate, but that guy is lying. They still use proprietary parts in their machines, trust me.

But the main issue here is if you can fit the PSU, not whether or not it will work. A normal PSU will work on a Dell motherboard. The problem is when you replace a dell motherboard but not the PSU. I have literally seen motherboards melt because of other shops not replacing the PSU in a dell, or not getting a Dell specific motherboard.

I wont be changing any mobo anytime soon..by the time i want to do sli or anything like that ill be building a whole new computer, on youtube ive seen people changing the psu in inspiron 530, which is smiliar to 537, 537 is slightly larger. The 537 is a new dell model so anyone who ordered it wont be getting until the end of May. So no PSU measurement until June..
kenny9438 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 11:42 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

It's not even about the motherboard swapping, and if you're changing out the PSU, it's a moot point anyway.

My main point is not only would you get a machine quicker than that Dell, but you'd get something better, and it would save you some money since you're buying parts anyway, you know? That way you aren't paying for things you aren't going to use.

This is just my personal opinion, but it's something to think about.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 03:00 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

I have to agree with hikaricloud, Building the system is actually real easy to do, Ive built snap tight models that where harder to put together than a PC and the people on this site are real helpful (that's an understatement to be honest) and with the video card and PS your adding you can get the rest for less with better product and a larger monitor.
Newegg.com - Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TP43D2A7 LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - Acer X223Wbd Black 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 2500:1 - LCD Monitors
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders - Operating Systems
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 2.5GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
Comes out to $658 with 22" monitor without the parts you where adding to the Dell. And these are not the cheap parts, these are better brands, to go cheap it could be built much cheaper.

Just an option for you.
Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
GTX 260 vs 280 - Is it the cost? willet New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-02-2008 01:20 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 3-Way SLI vs. ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Quad CrossFireX Prototype New Technology and Products 57 08-24-2008 08:08 PM
GTX 280 SLI Power Requirements? dhgunit New Technology and Products 10 06-07-2008 02:18 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.