Will GTX 280 work with my computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2009, 01:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Talking Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

As long as everything fits I'm fine.... Now I have to worry about overheating... Any suggestion? (btw this is my first time building a desktop, don't want to selfbuild everything, so if anyone comes up with some good suggestion or see any problem, plz feel free to tell me)
__________________

kenny9438 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 02:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

Do you already own this Dell?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 02:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

Nope. But I already ordered it and will be getting it on June 5th
kenny9438 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 03:57 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

If you can, you should cancel the order, and make up an excuse, you can make a way better build here for the same price.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 04:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

Yea, if you could cancel the order you would save A LOT of $ building it yourself. I built my first computer few weeks ago. It was fun and I saved a lot of $ compared to if I were to buy a computer from Dell/HP/etc.
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 06:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

Keep in mind if he has his heart set on a Dell that is fine.

If you decide you would rather build we are here to help.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:04 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

thanks everyone, i think ill stay with Dell right now, im really scared to build a computer that wont work or anything like that, im just a 14 years old, and i only know little about computer and stuff. but i will build my next computer cuz i know its a lot cheaper.
kenny9438 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

If you're not sure about how it would work to build a computer, there are a lot of guides out there, and we're pretty learned and can help you. But it's up to you mate, either way works. :P

If you decided to take building a shot, let us know, we'll help you out.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

only thing I would be worried about is if the Dell uses the Dell only PS, if it does that Corsair might be an issue. Nice PS though, I have it in my system.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:28 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Will GTX 280 work with my computer?

There is a psu on newegg designed for DELL upgrades specifically, but this might be for dell cases that dont hold a normal size psu or something
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
GTX 260 vs 280 - Is it the cost? willet New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-02-2008 01:20 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 3-Way SLI vs. ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Quad CrossFireX Prototype New Technology and Products 57 08-24-2008 08:08 PM
GTX 280 SLI Power Requirements? dhgunit New Technology and Products 10 06-07-2008 02:18 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.