will the games of today work w/ windows vista - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2006, 06:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

You have to be a member of MSDN.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 06:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Yes, but on Direct x9.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 06:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

the benefits of Vista for gaming is that its a 64 bit OS, and DX 10 will come out with it
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 06:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I got it

I just wish i had the time to install it and play around
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

There are other ways of obtaining Vista beta other than being a member of MSDN.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
There are other ways of obtaining Vista beta other than being a member of MSDN.
tsk, tsk, tsk, nothing illegal now...
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

lol, all i could find on my gnutella was the 32 bit version, lol.... but don't get me wrong, i buy almost all of my software unless i need a quick fix or something like changing a file from asf to avi, in which i promptly uninstall it. Having made a few programs i know how intense it can be to incorperate other files and such... i feel bad doing it, lol

to be honest, after visiting paul thuotts site i have no desire to get the beta or pay 500 bucks to be a member ! Back to vista... you cannot even think of comparing it to xp x86... thats just not fair. Especially considering xp really kinda undershot their requirements... guess they want to do the opposite this time around... but i've heard all kinds of different stories saying it requires 2 gigs of memory, 256mb video, and even 512mb memory, 64mb video (for recomended, not required). i think the best thing to do is wait till the final product is released and the rumors are done...

in my oppinion, i really am looking forward to vista. You must remember that these are beta releases... they aren't final, simply "stable." Also, if you look back a good 3 years or so when it was released as longhorn (i dont even know if it was a beta) it was TOTALLY different, which it should be. You work out kinks, bugs and such. I think the vista bashing can start once it is finally released
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Yeah well I was running vista on my AMD64 3200 at 2.4, 2gb of ram at 240mhz, and a 6800GS oc'd as well and it ran slow.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

« CPU Temp | Raptors »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.