Will this fuel a x1900gt? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2007, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Will this fuel a x1900gt?

This is a Sparkle 350W, but the 12v rail has a whopping 34amps, and from what I've heard the x1900 only needs "450w" with 30 amps. So does wattage have anything to do with anything here or is it just a rating? I've read the power supply sticky here and wattage doesn't really mean jack, but 350w just won't cut it for me unless someone convinces me, and 32 bucks for this seems really tempting to buy..
Newegg.com - SPARKLE ATX-350PN-B204 ATX 12V 2.0 350W Power Supply 100~120V or 220~240V UL 60950, TUV, IEC 60950, NEMKO (CB Report) - OEM
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 12:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

That should be able to handle it.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

I think you can handle it...the X1900GT is more like 400 minimum with an average PSU while that sparkle is a really good 350w. If you only have say 1 optical drive and just a few add-on's then it should handle it.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

I'll probably have 2 optical drives, one hard drive, and two case fans, but that shouldn't be too much right?
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

You don't add the amps on each 12v rail to get the total amperage. It's probably more in the ~25 range. It probably could run it but I wouldn't. There are better ones you can get for $40 or so. Like this:
Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) ATX400-PA, version 2.0, SATA, 400W Power Supply - OEM
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

Agreed with mrfluffles. That sparkle might handle it, but cutting it a little close.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 02:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

Well an optical drive takes around 30 watts. I think that if you use 2 of them you will be cutting it very close and maybe not be able to. One should work for sure though..
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 02:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

It will work....but i wouldnt reccomend it.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
You don't add the amps on each 12v rail to get the total amperage. It's probably more in the ~25 range. It probably could run it but I wouldn't. There are better ones you can get for $40 or so. Like this:
Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) ATX400-PA, version 2.0, SATA, 400W Power Supply - OEM
you dont?
how do you figure it then?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Will this fuel a x1900gt?

Yea those are combined and it would be like more like 25 26 amps...but it's fine.

I suggest this instead though for a few bucks more.

Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) ATX400-PA, version 2.0, SATA, 400W Power Supply - OEM
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.