will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2009, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Question will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

two years ago i built a nice system and now i've decided i'd like an upgrade

current specs:
mobo: Abit AW9D-MAX
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
GFX: nVidia GeForce 8800GTX
RAM: G.Skill 2GB Dual Channel
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700W

upgrades i'm eyeing:
2 GB additional G.Skill RAM
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.8Ghz ($220)
and in the future i plan on buying a GeForce 295 or something

my question is: since my mobo only supports a 1066Mhz FSB, and the Q9550 has an FSB rating of 1333, will it still work? my second choice would be the Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz ($200) (1066Mhz FSB). the price difference hardly matters, but i would much rather have the Q9550 if it will run on my mobo. Abit has done tests on various CPUs, listed here: Universal abit > CPU Support List but the Q9550 is blank, so it hasn't been tested. but i noticed that other 1333mhz FSB CPUs have been tested and work?

also, i've read that it's generally a bad idea to try and run higher FSB-rated CPUs on lower rated mobos. why is this?

thanks in advance
__________________

jasonhtml is offline  
Old 08-09-2009, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

According to that list the 9550 will work, but you will run the chip at the lower speed of 1066. This won't damage anything, but you'd be spending $220 for a processor that won't run at it's full potential. If I were you I would stick to a 45nm dual core like the E7600 or something that is rated at 1066 MHz. That will save you $70 or so to spend on a new video card or other upgrade.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

why not the Q6600 like i suggested? its also rated at 1066Mhz
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

I don't think the Abit AW9D-MAX will suupport 45nm quads, only the GT model supposively.

Abit AW9D/AW9D-Max support 45nm CPUs with the latest BIOS update - [H]ard|Forum
CPU-Upgrade: ABIT AW9D-MAX cpu support and features

So youre stuck with the 6600

Oh, hes suggesting a dual 45nm chip, as it'll be faster doing almost everythig you do right now, unless you're a major multitasker.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

Paton's right. Unless you're into heavy video editing, some high end gaming, or any other program that is optimized for a quad core then you won't notice a difference. The 6600 is quite an old chip now and the 45nm dual cores are super fast. That being said, if you really want a quad then the 6600 would be your best bet since your board won't do the newer 45nm quads.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

patonb, thanks for the links. i do consider myself a heavy multitasker and gamer, so i'll be going with the Q6600. i might even overclock a little bit. thanks for the help guys
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

Maybe you should look into the Q6700?

Better overclocking potential than the q6600 as the batches didn't crap out after a while, also you are guaranteed a G0 Revision.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

ya the Q6700 looks like a good buy. it's $200 at tiger direct (no Q6700 at newegg for some reason?) which is the same price as newegg's Q6600.

however, i've never oc'ed before and i don't understand what you mean about the batches and G0 revision. care to enlighten me? :P i'm reading up on oc'ing right now but i haven't come across either of those terms yet...
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 10:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

Well, when the q6600 became so popular because of their overclocking ability, sometime in 2008 they stopped being some good.

Revision's are basically revamped versions of the chips where problems are addressed etc. and for some reason its usually better.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo?

thanks for the info, ill be buying the Q6700
__________________

jasonhtml is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to upgrade to quad core. 35g700 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-25-2009 08:09 PM
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9100 & Core 2 Duo E8100 Prototype New Technology and Products 4 08-23-2008 12:25 PM
WTB: Core 2 Duo/Core 2 Quad Mobo NosBoost300 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 15 09-06-2007 05:34 PM
Quad Core DawnOfDoom New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-21-2007 11:11 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.